And I’m back!

Did you all miss me?

It’s been a crazy, hectic month – but a good one. I sing with our local symphony and we just finished our season by performing Carl Orff’s “Carmina Burana.” Amazing music, but exhausting to rehearse and perform. I guarantee you’ve heard it before, since it’s one of those pieces of classical music that has infiltrated popular culture so much, they’ve even used it on Glee. Typically, if there is a character who is really angry or about to go on the war path, there’s a good chance the opening of “Carmina Burana” will be playing in the background. Here’s a little sample of the music, just so you’ll see what I mean.

We had a crazy rehearsal schedule, especially as the concert got closer, but it’s all over now. I’m done with the symphony until everything starts back up in the fall, which means I can get back writing again. I typically go into a bit of a funk when the symphony season ends and really miss it over the summer, but I’m really excited to start working on my novel again, not to mention actually having time to read books instead of music. In order to challenge myself and get back into the swing of things, I have signed up for June’s Camp NaNoWriMo. For anyone who as participated in NaNoWriMo in November, Camp Nano is pretty much the same thing, just in June or August.

50,000 words in 30 days. I have never, ever been able to complete this and I have tried (oh, how I’ve tried). Still, it should be fun and even if I don’t get up to the goal, at least I will have achieved some progress in my story. It’s time to buckle down and actually write this thing. My evenings are freer, now that symphony is over and my daughter is almost out of school and has no more homework to help with. In addition, I will be posting my NaNo stats here on the blog just to help keep track (and to have you guys keep me honest).

Leave a Reply

