Book Round Up

I’ve been trying to figure out which books I’ve blogged about and which I haven’t. So far, I am 26 books in to my goal of reading 60 books this year. A lot of them have been re-reads of books that I already own – there are so many on my bookshelves right now that I barely remember reading! It’s been nice to go back and revisit them.

Example: The Shining Ones and The Hidden City, both by David Eddings, books two and three of his Tamuli series. Mr. Eddings is one of my favorite fantasy authors, one of the first fantasy authors I ever read. His books all have a rich story world that is easy to immerse yourself in. The Tamuli series is no exception and it has been a blast reading it again.

I also read Diana Pharaoh Francis’ Path of Fate for the book club over at The Mallorean Tavern. While it was an okay read, I felt some of the pieces of the story were a bit too cookie cutter. It also seemed towards the end that the heroine ended up getting too much power too easily. There wasn’t enough struggle, at least not how I read it. There were several things I liked about the book though, including the ahalad-haaslane – a bond between a human and an animal sent by the goddess to help serve the people. The characters were likable, but for the most part, very average.

Finally, I finished reading The Lord of the Rings trilogy, by J.R.R. Tolkien (as if I really needed to say) with The Return of the King. I read this with the lovely crowd over at Mark Reads and it was really fun. It has been forever since I read these books, and reading along with someone experiencing them for the first time was a great experience.

Camp NaNoWriMo is going great. I’m still keeping up with my word count goals. My current word count is 6,855, which is just above target. Are any of you writing this summer?

Leave a Reply

