Fairies and Digital Downloads

This week I learned how to check out e-books from my local library and have them wirelessly downloaded to my Kindle Fire. That’s so cool! One problem I’ve always had with library books is getting back to return them, especially now when my schedule is so tight. Now, I can do it all from home and, although they don’t have all their titles available in Kindle format, they have a lot of them. So to test this new technology, I checked out Lament: The Faerie Queen’s Deception by Maggie Stiefvater.

She’s a young harp player with psychic gifts. He’s a young man who may or may not be part faerie, but definitely has a secret to keep. Why shouldn’t these two fall in love?

Deirdre thought she was ordinary, but turns out to be part of a family that can see the fair folk. At a music competition, she meets Luke, a gorgeous fellow musician who seems a little too perfect for her. And what the heck are all these four leaf clovers doing everywhere? And who is the strange freckled faced kid who keeps popping up?

Deirdre has attracted the attention of the Faerie Queen, who is always on the lookout for beautiful new “toys” to play with. And since Deirdre has such interesting talents, she is even more tempting. Can Luke help her, even with his own curious ties to the land of the Fae?

I liked this book, although I felt it started off a little slow. I liked Stiefvater’s take on the Faerie realm and the dangers therein. This is the first book of a series – the second book is already out and third one looks to be due out next year. I will definitely continue reading this one.

Leave a Reply

