The end of summer is near . . .

And with the end of summer comes change. Lots and lots of changes. For one, school will be starting and while I’m not a student anymore (sigh), I have two elementary school age children at home who need to get ready for the new year. Open houses, school supply lists, new clothes – the list of things to do before next Monday seems to keep growing.

Still, I am looking forward to getting back to a normal schedule. Writing group, which was mostly on hiatus for the summer, is starting back up this Saturday. I am trying so hard to get my head back into the writing game. Over the summer, I have gone through all the stages of psychological trauma which I have heard is normal, even for experienced published novelists. I have hated my characters. I have told myself that my story is the worst thing ever to be typed into Microsoft Word. I have sworn that I would never write again.

And then I go right back and start writing. I guess I’m a glutton for punishment.

I’ve also made a few changes around my blog, starting with a brand new, fancy name. “Life With No Plot” means several things to me. While my novel in progress does have a plot, often it is hard to remember it and stick to it while I’m writing. I foresee a lot of rewrites in my future. But it also means that for right now, my life has no specific plot. I have several goals, of course, but no major plans as to how to achieve them. I used to really work myself up and stress myself out because there were so many things I wanted to do and no real means with which to do them. For right now, I am trying to live life with no expectations. No long term plans. Seizing the day. So far it seems to be working, but it’s only been a few days. Give me a few weeks and then we’ll see where I’m at.

I’ve also decided to drop my pseudonym and go for realism. Pleased to meet you, my name is Denise.

So if you liked my blog before, don’t worry. I’m still going to be talking about books. A lot. But hopefully there will be a lot more than that, and much more frequent posts.

One thought on “The end of summer is near . . .

  1. I’m getting to know you on an entirely different level. Love it. I am reading a lot also for the first time in years and enjoying it so much. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

