School Daze

All over the world, the kiddies are going back to school. My daughter just went back this past Monday, starting 2nd grade. Her excitement was contagious and, I have to admit, it makes my heart sing to hear her being so enthusiastic about going back.

I loved school, especially college. Every year, it seems strange that I’m not right there with all the students, new and old, going around, finding just the right notebooks, pens, a planner that I may or may not actually use. I was lucky because I went back to college later in life. I think I was able to appreciate the learning experience a whole lot more than the first time I went to college right after high school. I was there because I wanted to be there. Not because I felt like I had to be there. I loved the experience of walking into a new class and finding out just what we were going to be discovering that semester. It always seemed a bit magical to me, which might sound a bit silly, but I’ll bet there are a few of you out there who understand what I’m talking about.

My school days are at an end, but my school “daze” is far from over. It’s been a pretty hectic couple of weeks trying to get my seven year old ready. Between family issues and an unexpected trip for her to go visit her dad, we had very little time to prepare. Still, we managed to find the coolest backpack (it has pink and purple peace signs on it) and pack it full of all the things she will need. Her teachers this year are awesome and everyone seems really excited to get going on a brand new year.

Now that everything has finally started, I’m hoping that things will calm down a little. This doesn’t mean that I won’t continue to live vicariously through my daughter when she gets to discover new things, read new books, and go through that wonderful journey of learning that always meant so much to me. I am very grateful that she shares this love of learning. Here’s to hoping it only grows as the years go on.

Doesn’t she look excited? 🙂

One thought on “School Daze

  1. Love your description on school and the love of learning for you and for Ashleigh. Don’t let that flame ever go out. We love you both

Leave a Reply

