Music in Alexandria

This week, Tuesday and Wednesday, I went on a little adventure. My mom, my daughter and I went to Alexandria, Virginia (which is just outside Washington D.C.). Our reason for going: to see Ramin Karimloo performing at the Birchmere Music Hall. This is awesome on many levels, so let’s just list them, shall we?

  • Any reason for going on a road trip with two of my favorite people is a good one.
  • The Birchmere is amazing! It is steeped in music history, with legendary guests like Johnny Cash and Ray Charles. They have a wall with photos of many of the people who have graced their stage and it is impressive. At the same time, it’s not very big, so the performances feel very intimate and personal.
  • I am a huge fan of Ramin Karimloo!!! He’s most known for his work in London’s West End, playing such famous roles as the Phantom in Phantom of the Opera and Love Never Dies, and Jean Valjean in Les Miserables. I mentioned him briefly in this post but after seeing him in concert, he deserves a post of his own.

Ramin has been touring the U.S. to promote his new album. He sang several songs from it, along with a few from shows he’s been in (“Music of the Night” and “Bring Him Home” were musts, of course). He also sang a mix of folk, rock, and traditional hymns. In fact, I think this is one of the things I like best about him – his music comes from a wide variety of styles and genres, and he is equally brilliant at all of them. My daughter, who is almost eight years old, is also a big fan and she was really excited that he sang her favorite song from the album (“Broken Home”).

After the show, I was hoping to get an autograph, but wasn’t sure what was going on. I’ve been to stage doors before and usually they are crowded and chaotic. This time, they had a table set up inside where you could go up one at a time to meet Ramin and get him to autograph whatever you wanted. Some people had tons of things and there were a whole bunch of people there waiting. By the time I got up there, it was nearly 11:00 PM. He must have been exhausted after the show, but he was very gracious. I was nervous as can be and my daughter got incredibly shy, but I got my CD booklet signed, which was really cool. 🙂

Here’s a video from the concert. I didn’t record it, but there are several out there from his tour on YouTube. This is one of my favorite songs from his album, called “Cathedrals.”

And now a few pictures, this time from the little meet and greet afterwards.

Here’s my daughter and I, getting to meet Ramin!

The autograph!

It was a great trip and a great concert. Hopefully he will come Stateside again one day. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Music in Alexandria

  1. I agree 100%. Great trip with great people to see a great performer! So glad I was there to see Ramin & the awesome Birchmere Music Hall. It was so much fun! Ready for another road trip?

Leave a Reply

