Top Ten Tuesday – Nostalgic Edition

Welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the lovely folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This week’s topic took a long time for me to figure out. There are a lot of books that could fall under this category, but in the end, I chose to highlight these. It’s a mixture of children’s literature and classics.

Top Ten “Older” Books That Should Not Be Forgotten

First, the children’s books:

1. Charlotte’s Web and Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White – These two books helped define my childhood and E.B. White was my first “favorite” author.

2. Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell – The first book I read that truly made me cry. No, really. I wasn’t right for days. Beautiful story, based on real events.

3. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende – The book is so much better than the movie, although the movie was pretty darn awesome. An amazing story world in this one – who wouldn’t want to fall into their favorite book?

4. The Wrinkle in Time Series by Madeline L’Engle – Oh, my childhood. I miss you so much. This series is beautifully written and really makes you think. It’s not all about the fantasy in this one. There are lots of moral lessons here as well.

5. The Song of the Lioness Series by Tamora Pierce – While this is probably aimed at a middle grade audience, I am reading it for the first time with Mark Reads. The original “girl power” fantasy story.

Next up, the classics:

6. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky – Read this my senior year of high school and it’s never left me. A deep look at the inner workings of the criminal soul and the true meanings of right and wrong, guilty and innocent.

7. Dracula by Bram Stoker – With the masses of vampire stories infiltrating pop culture, let’s not forgot about the one that really started it all.

8. The Lord of the Rings Series by J.R.R. Tolkien – And if we’re talking about books that started things, let’s not forget about the original epic fantasy.

9. 1984 by George Orwell – Another book that started a phenomenon, even if it was years later. One of the first, and best, dystopian novels out there.

10. Paradise Lost by John Milton – I read this in high school as well and it really made me think about how to see things from a different point of view. Imagine telling the story of the Garden of Eden from the Devil’s point of view? Incredibly daring, especially given the time period Milton wrote in.

So that’s my list for today. Honestly, it could probably be a million times longer. Let me know what you think! Are there any other books that you don’t want people to forget?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Nostalgic Edition

  1. Great list. It’s so hard to pick only ten books down since there are so many great older books out there. Charolette’s Web made it on my list but many of the others you have listed also could have made my list as well.

    • Some of these lists are so hard to narrow down! It’s fun to think about though. I liked your list too – Mists of Avalon is one of my all time favorites.

      Thanks for commenting!

    • I can’t even count the number of times I read Trumpet of the Swan. It never got the same amount of attention as Charlotte’s Web did, but it was my favorite of the E.B. White books.

      I am loving the Tamora Pierce books. How on earth did I miss those when I was younger!

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

