Top Ten Tuesday – Wildcard

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by “The Broke and the Bookish,” is a bit of a wild card – we get to choose whatever topic we want! Since today is a bit hectic for me, I’m going with a fairly easy topic. I’m going back over the books I’ve read this year and selecting my favorites. For simplicity’s sake, I’m only selecting from books that I have read for the first time this year – no re-reads count. Hope you enjoy!

Top Ten Favorite Books I’ve Read This Year

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – This book has been everywhere this year, mostly because of the movie. The movie was great, but the book was so much more. Whether you saw the movie or not, you should read this book.

2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – A beautiful book about two teens living with serious illness. Be sure to have a box of tissues handy. John Green always seems to make me cry, and I mean that in a good way.

3. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – This book is a geek’s dream. Crazy dystopian future. Video games. More 80’s trivia than you can shake a stick at. Funny and serious at the same time.

4. Shadow’s Fall by Dianne Sylvan – I think I read this one in one sitting, it was that good. The third book in the Shadow World series was a whirlwind adventure with a killer cliffhanger. When is the next book coming out again???

5. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – This book was full of the unexpected, which I really enjoyed. I also loved how the old photographs were incorporated into the story. And let’s face it – the title is awesome. Full review coming soon.

6. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – I probably wouldn’t have read this one if A). there wasn’t a movie coming out, and B). there wasn’t controversy around it. Which is sad, because I shouldn’t have missed it. A really good book, review coming soon.

7. Feed by Mira Grant – Oh my goodness, this book. I can’t even describe it yet since I just finished it a few days ago and it still hasn’t sunk in. Again, totally not what I expected. Full review coming once I get my head together.

8. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman – This book was spooky and cute, all at the same time. Really good. I might give this one to my stepson to read.

9. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson – Another spooky story, this time revolving around ghosts and Jack the Ripper. Can’t wait to read the next one in the series, coming out next year (I think).

10. The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa – I’m reading this series right now (almost through book 3!) and it’s really good. I love Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and this is a modern take with a twist. Sort of. Actually it’s a lot more than that.

So there it is! I’m almost done with my goal of reading 60 books this year (Goodreads shows me at 58!), so I’m pretty proud of myself. You know what else I’m proud of? My writing progress. On 750words.com, I have achieved a 5 day streak, which earned me by Penguin badge! Isn’t he cute!

Writing challenge update:


13054 / 30000
(43.51%)
16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Wildcard

  1. Thanks for explaining 750 words. So it isn’t writing that many pages of a story or book. Just writing thoughts? Really enjoying your blog and your pod casts. You are a pro at it.

  2. I just read Perks this year too and loved it. Glad to see Ready Player One and The Fault in Our Stars on your list too. Congrats on reaching your reading and writing goals!

    • It’s such a good book, but a real tear jerker. Not that it’s a big suprise, of course. πŸ™‚

      I really like your list too. I remember doing that one as well a few weeks ago. I always love seeing how authors create their story world.

      Thanks for commenting!

    • Those are really good books, and really easy to read. I almost read Perks in one sitting. I ended up staying up until 1 AM reading Fault in Our Stars because I could not put it down. Love when books do that to me πŸ™‚

      Thanks for commenting! I really liked your list too, although I didn’t know a lot of the characters you picked. Guess I have to read more!

  3. I love, love, love Ready Player One, TFIOS and Feed! You’re clearly a reviewer from my own heart, well, except that the Iron Fey series was not for me, but I never match up with anyone exactly. Looks like I need to check out a couple I’ve never even heard of. πŸ™‚

    • This year seemed to be a really good year for Young Adult Lit. Over the past several years it’s been getting more attention. And getting better and better, in my opinion. πŸ™‚ I liked your list too!

Leave a Reply

