Shopping for Clothes, Not Books

No “Stacking the Shelves” this week. Instead of buying new books, I went out and spent a goodly amount of money on fall/winter clothes for my kiddo. She grows like a weed, that one. Hardly any warm clothes from last year fit. Luckily she should be set for a while and I can get back to buying books next week. 🙂

I wanted to talk about my writing challenge a little bit. I’ve always loved the spirit of NaNoWriMo, even if I’ve never completed that challenge. Writing 50,000 words in 30 days is really hard! I’m trying to write 30,000 words in six weeks and that has been giving me fits. There is one thing that has really helped me, and that’s my writing group. I know that I have to keep writing because they keep me accountable. They won’t let me give up, and if I even try to give up, they are there to give me a good swift kick of inspiration.

So here’s my little, tiny bit of writing advice (keeping in mind that this advice is coming from someone who has never been published, or even ever finished a writing project). Not only should you write every day (or at least try, because sometimes life gets in the way), but try to find someone to keep you accountable. Whether it’s a writing website, like NaNo, or a friend or family member who will keep on you to keep at it. Sometimes all you need is just a little push. I’ve been writing like mad over the past few weeks and that’s because I don’t want to disappoint the writing group. I knew that if I didn’t write, other people would know. And I didn’t want to let them down.

I now have over 64,000 words completed in my current writing project. That is amazing to me, since the most I have ever done in the past was around 25,000. Without my fellow writers in the Triad Genre Writers Group, I would never have made it this far.

I’m on course to complete my challenge as well, which feels awesome.

18800 / 30000
(62.67%)
Leave a Reply

