Fresh Beginnings

So . . . . grad school starts today.

AAAAHHHH!!!!!

I’m a little nervous.

I sat down last night to list all the things to try and get done this week. The list is fairly long and it’s only the first week of class. To say that I’m feeling the pressure would be an understatement. At the same time, it’s incredibly exciting. The classes seem very interesting so far. Here’s what I’m taking.

1. Graduate Studies in English Language – This is a linguistics course discussing how the English language has changed. This week I get to look at various examples of English, from Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales to the new vernacular that has risen due to the Internet culture.

2. Race and Ethnicity in American Literature – I thought this would be a survey course in American Lit, but turns out it has been narrowed to specifically talk about ethnic literature and the way race has been portrayed. We’re reading a lot of African-American and Native American stuff, judging from the novels we had to buy. Good stuff.

So that’s going to be my focus for the next three months. That, and everything else I have going. The podcast. The reading groups I’m in. Singing with the Chorale (which also starts back up today). Editing my novel. And, oh yeah, I do have a family to take care of. I guess I’m going to be a bit busy.

2 thoughts on “Fresh Beginnings

  1. Get those lists going! It is a busy schedule but the added things are all things you love to do – school, reading, singing. If anyone can do it – you can! Help is available if you just ask (from all of your family) 🙂

Leave a Reply

