Happiness Project – Week #2

Happiness Avatar

The Happiness Project has been good so far. Still plenty of room to improve, but I’m making some progress.

Things I’ve done this week:

  • Changed my bedtime. This has been harder than I thought it would be. I was always of the mindset that going to bed earlier was a waste of time. There were so many other things that needed to be done! Because of this, even though I am in bed earlier, I’m not falling asleep easily. I think I’m going to start taking Valerian again. It’s a fairly mild herbal sleep aid that doesn’t knock you out like over-the-counter meds can. Maybe that will help my brain stop over processing.
  • De-cluttered my office. Of all the de-cluttering to be done in this house, I wanted my office to come first because of school. I am going to be very busy for the foreseeable future and wanted a nice, clean space to work in. I now have a huge box of books to donate to the used bookstore (and get store credit – whooo!) and a lot more space in my bookshelves. I’ve brought up another small bookshelf to spread some things out and make it look a little neater. I bought some decorative boxes and use them to keep things that used to be all over the floor or thrown into a messy pile. It’s still a pile of stuff, but it looks so much better!

Things that haven’t gone as well”

  • Walking or exercise. Yeah, no. It just isn’t happening, and to be truthful, I don’t know if it will. I’ll still try to see where I can incorporate it, but it’s just so hard! I’ll have to keep working on that one.

So as I said, things are going pretty good so far. The next thing to do for January, which I didn’t mention in my first post, is to complete a nagging task. You know what those are. They hover in the background, always there, never completely on your mind, but still present enough to make you feel bad for not doing it. There are several for me to choose from, but I haven’t picked one yet. I’ll update you on my progress there next week.

One thought on “Happiness Project – Week #2

  1. Mom here 🙂 I’m not making nearly as much progress as you are with your de-cluttering. Of course, I do have a lot more to get rid of. Your office does look great! I have a definite nagging task for me but need to take the steps necessary to get it taken care of. So far I’m not sure if the “Happiness Project” is making me happier or just adding some stress to my life. I’ll let you know at the end of January.

Leave a Reply

