Top Ten Tuesday – Settings Edition

toptentuesday2

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, from the folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish,” was a difficult one for me. It’s all about settings this week, trying to think about places that you would like to see more stories take place. To be honest, there are very few books where the setting is a big thing I pay attention to. I’m usually more drawn to characters – if the characters are good, I don’t usually care where they are exactly. An exception to this would be something like Hogwarts Castle from the Harry Potter books. The castle there is practically another character in the story and gets a lot of attention devoted to it. So this topic took some thought, and here’s what I’ve come up with.

Top Ten (or Eight) Settings I’d Like to Read More Of

1. The Servant’s Quarters – Maybe this is just because of watching Downton Abbey, but I have been fascinated by juxtaposition of the cultured, high society living of the aristocrats and the simpler, more common lives of their servants. Both have plenty of drama, to be sure, but there is something about seeing the family through the eyes of the servants at times that is very interesting.

2. Train Stations/Bus Depots/Airports – I think these transportation hubs are  good places to throw characters together, most of which would never be together otherwise, and see what they do. Put that together with all the different destinations available and the inevitable culture clashes, and the possibilities are endless.

3. Theaters – As most of you know, I am a theater lover. A Broadway baby. I’ve attended performing arts high schools and university programs. I’ve taken part in all kinds of shows, from church reviews to professional opera and just about everything in between. Lots of cool stuff happens behind the scenes in the theater.

4. New York City – As most of you also know, I am in love with New York. It has been a while since my last trip and I am desperate to go back. But I’d make due with a really good story set there.

5. London – I’ve never been to London, but it’s a place I’ve always wanted to visit. For some reason, despite this, I haven’t read very many stories set in London.

6. Jails or Prisons – This one will strike people who know me as odd. I’ve never been one for cop shows or detective procedural stories, but I do like hearing about crime from the criminal’s perspective. If I’m flipping channels and there is an interview with someone who is behind bars, I will almost always stop to watch.

7. Libraries – This proves just how much of a nerd I am. I enjoy reading about libraries almost as much as I enjoy visiting them.

8. Las Vegas – This is another one that would probably surprise people. I’ve only ever been to Las Vegas once and didn’t really enjoy the experience (it’s waaaay too loud). Still, something set in that city, something showing the true stories behind all the glitz and flashing lights, would be very interesting.

And there you have it. All you authors out there, start writing!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Settings Edition

  1. You are one of the most interesting characters I know. Just love your book reviews and found this article fascinating. Hadn’t thought about a book from that point of view. I have read some really intriguing books recently.

  2. The setting of one of those books. ‘Dine’ Tah’ is the Navaho country 1900 to 1939. Another was in Korea during the war with a Japanese immigrant who lived in Gallup, NM and his Navaho best friend. surviving capture and POW camps. Riveting!

Leave a Reply

