I was a bad girl . . .

STSmall_thumb[2]_thumb

Yes, I was. I went on a book binge this weekend. And so, I bring you another “Stacking the Shelves,” hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

Lirael and Abhorsen by Garth Nix – To be fair, I did get these at the library, so I didn’t shell out any actual money. These are the second and third books in the Abhorsen series, the first being Sabriel, which I reviewed earlier. I am intrigued by this magic system and world and definitely want to learn more about it. Unrelated note – my daughter now has her very own library card. She checked out six books all by herself this weekend. So proud. 🙂

Fire by Kristin Cashore – This is the second book in the Graceling series and I couldn’t pass this one up. There’s this funny little store in our town called Ollie’s (not sure if they have those elsewhere or not) and they specialize in closeouts and excess inventory stuff. They have a really nice book section, even if it has a random selection from time to time. I found Fire stuck in a shelf with totally unrelated stuff and it was only $1.99. What would you have done?

Skinned by Robin Wasserman – So we went to the local used bookstore, Edward McKay, and even though I wasn’t really planning on buying much, I ended up buying a few things. I know nothing about this book, not really. The reason I bought it was because of the author. I follow another author, Maureen Johnson, on Twitter. She is a really great author and a funny person, and I happen to know that she and Robin Wasserman are friends. Because of this, I now follow Robin on Twitter, and figured I ought to actually read one of her books.

Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen – Did you ever have a book end up on your to-be-read list on GoodReads and have no idea how it got there? No? That’s just me? Oh well. That’s what happened with this book. Someone must have recommended it to me and I stuck it on my GoodReads list so I wouldn’t forget about it. Of course, I’ve forgotten who recommended it, but I guess that’s not important. This looks to be a retelling of Robin Hood, which I like, and it was at the used bookstore in hardcover for cheap.

So there you have it. My book buying binge for the weekend. I guess I need to go ahead and finish the Chicagoland Vampires books so I can get to work on these, shouldn’t I.

Leave a Reply

