Happiness Project – Week #8

Happiness Avatar

I’ve sort of skipped over the month of February – seriously, can anyone believe that it’s March already? This year is going by fast! I didn’t set any specific goals for the Happiness Project in February, which was all about marriage and relationships, not because I don’t think it’s important, but because they were all things that I should already be doing. I’ve tried to be better about nagging, and about giving more signs of affection on a daily basis, even if it’s something small. For the most part, I think my husband and I have a pretty solid marriage. It’s not perfect, but really, there isn’t much that I would want to change. He’s a pretty nifty guy. Plus, he puts up with me, so you know he must be something special. 🙂

So on to March. I haven’t read the chapter for March yet, so I won’t go into any goals for this month until next Friday. The chapter heading for this month says that it’s about work, with the subtitle “Aim Higher.” I don’t think I have much of a problem with this one. Honestly, I think my problem is that I tend to aim too high. Such is the life of an overachieving perfectionist. So we’ll see how it goes. Maybe this month will help me to aim higher more sensibly.

To be honest, the Happiness Project is really hard. A lot of the changes I made in January are not sticking as well as I would have liked. I’m nowhere near giving up, so don’t think that. But when real life kicks in, it’s difficult to think that you’ll be a lot happier if you just get your closets cleaned out. Which will be nice when I get around to it, but still. For example, we had a little incident this morning. I was getting ready to take my daughter to school and trying to pack up her backpack. The zipper on said backpack was partially torn off. I didn’t notice it last night during homework time, but it looked like the zipper had gotten stuck and someone had pulled it really hard to try and get it unstuck. The result – the backpack no longer zips at all. Do we have another backpack anywhere in the house? Nope. So there was a lot of scrambling around to find something to put her school stuff in, a lot of lectures about how she needs to take better care of her stuff, and a lot of tears (because she “really loves” that backpack). It was exhausting, but we made something work and I don’t think I lost my cool too much. I was upset, sure, but I did not turn into a raging lunatic (which I’ve done in the past). Maybe that shows progress? I hope so.

We’ll see what March brings.

One thought on “Happiness Project – Week #8

  1. My only goal for February “relationships” month involved you. I have tried to “butt out” of your life a little and not be so needy. Hope I succeeded a little. Doesn’t mean I don’t love you bunches & bunches 🙂

Leave a Reply

