Top Ten Tuesday – Spring Reading Edition

wpid-toptentuesday.jpg

Not counting the books I have in progress (see previous post – oy), I have several books that I am looking forward to reading this spring. If I ever get caught up on everything else I’m reading that is. Hopefully that will happen soon.

Top Ten Books on my Spring To-Be-Read Pile

1. The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson – The second book in the Shades of London series, I got this book two weekends ago, at a book signing no less. And no, I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. I’m really looking forward to it, especially since I have heard that there is a knock-your-socks-off shocker at the end of it. Which brings me to the next book on this list.

2. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson – I read this last year, but I definitely need to read it again before I read The Madness Underneath. I’ve forgotten who most of the people are, which isn’t good. I do remember that this was an amazing book, so reading it again will be fun.

3. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins – Another prize from the book signing that is sitting here begging to be read. I’m getting to them, I swear!

4. Fire by Kristin Cashore – I stumbled across this book by accident at a bargain store and have yet to read it. I really enjoyed the first book in this series (Graceling). I just wish I could get around to reading this one. Which leads me to . . .

5. Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore – Only if I can find this one. The third book in this series is proving to be elusive. I haven’t seen it in a bookstore yet and there’s a wait at the library.

6. Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen – I found this one at my local used bookstore. The premise sounds interesting – what would have happened had one of Robin Hood’s “Merry Men” actually been a girl in disguise? Sounds like a good kick-ass heroine to me!

7. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – After finally seeing the movie, I really want to re-read this one again. Seriously, that movie was so good!

8. The Belgariad by David Eddings – So this is actually five books, but I’m only going to count it as one. The podcast that I co-host, Bibliophiles Anonymous, is doing a tribute to David Eddings to celebrate the anniversary of the publication of the first book in the series, Pawn of Prophesy. I love these books, so this should be fun.

9. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness – This is the April book club book at the Mallorean Tavern. I’ve heard good things about it, so I’m really looking forward to reading it.

10. Paper Towns by John Green – I absolutely love this book and it’s been a while since I read it. I desperately need to carve out some time for a re-read.

So that’s my to-read list for Spring. What’s yours?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Spring Reading Edition

    • I can’t wait to read it. I loved Anna and the French Kiss, and can’t wait for Isla and the Happily Ever After.

      I also can’t recommend Paper Towns enough. It’s by far my favorite John Green book. And that’s saying something, because I adore his stuff.

  1. I really, really enjoyed a Discovery of Witches. It seems long/daunting at first, but it reads so quickly and is just such a wonderful story – hopefully you’ll love it!

    • David Eddings was the first fantasy author I fell in love with. Sure, he’s old school, but his books are still just plain FUN! The podcast that I co-host is actually celebrating April as “Belgariad Month,” since it will be the 31st anniversary of the release of Pawn of Prophesy. It should be a good time.

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

