Top Ten Tuesday – Recommendation Edition

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, hosted by the lovely folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish,” is an easy one for me. So without further ado . . .

Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most

1. The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley – I loooove this book. It is one of my all time favorites and I always recommend it to anyone who asks, especially if they are fantasy lovers or fans of Arthurian legend.

2. Pawn of Prophesy by David Eddings – The first book in the Belgariad series will introduce you to the best fantasy story world building since J.R.R. Tolkien. And I mean that sincerely. Another must for fantasy fans.

3. Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan – The first book in the Shadow World series, these are vampires done right. No sparkles. With a dark and snarky sense of humor, these books make the idea of vampires living among us seem very plausible.

4. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro – I found this book while I was in college, and it has stayed with me ever since. A seemingly sweet story, with a slightly disturbing twist at the end, it’s an amazing book.

5. Paper Towns by John Green – This book pops up a lot on my Top Ten Tuesdays, but that’s just because it’s that good. I love this book so much.

6. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – The book that started one of the largest fandoms in history. Actually, I don’t recommend it as much as I’d like, because everyone I know has already read it!

7. Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo by Obert Skye – Another first book in a series, this one aimed at slightly younger readers. These books are silly and whimsical and just plain fun.

8. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – Of course, with the movie coming out in August, this book will be getting a lot of well-deserved attention. The Mortal Instruments series is one of my favorites, with interesting characters, magic, adventure, romance. Everything you could want.

9. The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin – I figured I ought to put this on the list, since I’ve been talking about it a lot lately. It’s a really good book and a good plan. My Friday posts really don’t do it justice.

10. Feed by Mira Grant – I’ve mentioned this book many times before as well. It’s been a long time since a book completely blew my mind, and this one certainly did that. Even if you aren’t into zombies (which I’m not, really), you will be drawn into this story.

So those are my ten. What are yours?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Recommendation Edition

Leave a Reply

