Disappearings

Yes, I disappeared from the Internet again, although this time was for a good reason. I came down with a rotten case of bronchitis. All I can say is at least I didn’t do what my daughter did – she went for the bronchitis/strep throat combo. She was miserable for while there, as was I. For the most part, everyone is back to being healthy again, although I still have that deep fatigue that comes with being sick – you know the one. It’s always the very last thing that goes away after being sick. As such, I’ve been getting up late (or as late as I safely can) and going to bed early. Doesn’t leave much time for any other pursuits.

I had a hard time thinking of what to blog about today, since I’m sure no one wants to hear about how sick I was. I think I’ll go with how my writing group has gone back to regular meetings again. We met this past weekend and everyone seems to think that I’ve found a good opening for my story. This is such a relief, since opening scenes are by far the worst ones to come up with. You need something that grabs the reader’s attention, is full of tension, yet still introduces your characters and your story world enough that you don’t confuse anyone. It’s not perfect yet, but it’s worlds closer than I was before. Plus, having regular meetings again will force me to work on it more diligently. No more excuses. Get this show on the road.

Something else I feel I should comment on: THE CATCHING FIRE TRAILER CAME OUT THIS WEEKEND!!! I feel bad for my husband – he sat through the MTV movie awards waiting to see this. I just pulled it up online the next day. Seriously, I caught a few minutes of that ridiculousness (MTV) and had to leave the room. Is that really what the youth of today is into? I don’t get it. But the trailer looks amazing! It’s really making me want to re-read these books, even though I have a ton of other things I need to get through.

2 thoughts on “Disappearings

Leave a Reply

