Top Ten Tuesday – Rewind Edition

wpid-toptentuesday.jpg

This week’s subject from “The Broke and the Bookish” is a rewind – pick any previous topic that you missed or just want to revisit. Today, I will talk about a sensitive topic – the books I would like to see turned into movies. I say sensitive because I have a love/hate relationship with book-to-movie adaptations. Some of them are brilliant, but Hollywood has also messed up on so many. But here’s the list of books I’d like them to try.

Top Ten (or Six) Books That Should Become Movies

1. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson – This is a really good book that has excellent movie potential. It’s a really good mystery, with fun characters, and a healthy dose of creepy.

2. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – This one is for the special effects people. Since most of the story takes place inside a video game, the possibilities are endless. That, and the story is really fun too.

3. The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa – While I’m very excited that the first book is being turned into a graphic novel, I would really love to see how they make the Never Never on screen. And Grimalkin, of course. Another one that would be fun for the special effects guys.

4. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray – This one is for the costume department. I would love to see all the Victorian dresses. I think this story would be excellent on screen, as long as they got the right actresses for it.

5. Paper Towns by John Green – I think this one was optioned once, but plans might have been dropped in favor of The Fault in Our Stars. While I don’t mind seeing that one done, I really enjoyed Paper Towns more in many ways. It would make a good movie.

6. Feed by Mira Grant – This one would be an exciting movie, except I probably wouldn’t go see it. I can handle horror if it’s in a book, but I can’t always handle it when it’s on screen. Still, these books have fewer zombies than most zombie books, since most of the story is the political intrigue. The zombies just happen to be there.

I’m sure there’s more I could put on this list, but this will do for now. What are some books you’d love to see turned into movies?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Rewind Edition

  1. Ooh, yes, I can definitely see the Shades of London books as movies … except, I’m afraid Hollywood would totally mess them up! It has a tendency to do that. I’m definitely with you on the love/hate relationship with book adaptations.

    • Some movie adaptions are great, but some of them are real stinkers. It makes me nervous when I hear any book I like is getting turned into a film. I just cross my fingers and hope for the best.

  2. Surprisinly I haven’t read any of these, but if they ever turned them into movies, I would then be obligated to read them before they came out in theatres! Great rewind choice!

    My TTT

    • I always try to read the book before seeing the movie. Although sometimes that makes me not enjoy the movie as much because I get very critical about it, but oh well. Can’t help it. 🙂

  3. I would kill to see A Great and Terrible Beauty as a movie. I’m extremely picky with casting and when it was first discussed years ago, I was seething at some of the choices. Mainly because I’ve always seen myself as Ann, and I wish I could play her in the films. I’m short, have brown hair, plumper than most girls, wear glasses and always have a runny nose, haha.

    • I think it would be great as a movie, between the stuffy Victorian school and the magical Realms. I think they’d have a blast making it, although like you, I would be very picky about the casting. You have to get the right girls for this, or the whole thing will completely fall apart.

Leave a Reply

