Tuesday Time!

I’m excited today, because I am starting a brand new weekly feature! Now, on Tuesdays, not only will I continue to do Top Ten Tuesdays with “The Broke and the Bookish,” but I will also do Teaser Tuesdays with MizB over at “Should Be Reading.” Yay!

Teaser Tuesday

Since this is new (for me anyway), here’s what you do:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Simple! Here’s mine for today:

Funny, isn’t it? People are scared of ghosts, ghosts are scared of people, when there’s no reason for any of it.” 

                       – Boo Chodhari, The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

 

toptentuesdayNext up, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s topic – books that were not what we expected. They can be either something we liked more that we thought we would, or something that was a huge disappointment. Here it goes!

Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did

Starting with the disappointments:

1. Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey – I don’t know what it was about this book, but I kept getting lost. Usually I love epic fantasy, but this one didn’t cut it for me. Which is sad, because I did like the setting and several of the characters. I just couldn’t get into it and embrace it fully.

2. The Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer – This will bring a few laughs, I’m sure. When these books became so popular, I knew I had to read them, just to see what all the fuss was about. I said it before and I’ll say it again, I don’t understand why these books are such a big deal. They weren’t terrible, but they weren’t great either. Definitely not worth all the hype, in my opinion.

3. The Magicians by Lev Grossman – I’ve mentioned this one before, both on the blog and the podcast. This book was recommended by someone who’s opinion I really value, but the actual reading was very disappointing. I spent the entire book being incredibly frustrated with the main character, which is a shame because lots of other things in the book were really cool.

4. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss – Another epic fantasy that I expected to like a whole lot more than I did, that came recommended very highly. I don’t know why, but I just got bored through part of it. It wasn’t that the writing was bad or anything. Maybe I just wasn’t in the mood for it when I was reading it.

5. City of Golden Shadow by Tad Williams – There are very few books that I don’t finish. Even if I don’t like the book, I’ll probably still finish it just because. I loved the Memory, Sorrow and Thorn series, so I thought I’d give this series a go. Not worth it. The plot was confusing and gave me a headache.

Now the books I liked better than I thought I would:

6. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky – Going back to high school for this one. I dreaded having to read it. I mean, look at the title! But I quickly became immersed in Raskolnikov’s story and now it is one of my all time favorite books.

7. The Newsflesh series by Mira Grant – Another book(s) that I’ve mentioned several times before. I had no idea that I would enjoy a book about zombies this much. True, the zombies are only background noise. The real story is about politics and intrigue. I just finished the last book, and I’m sad that it’s over.

8. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – Another one I’ll probably get laughed at for, but way back when, I was ready to write off Harry Potter as nothing but a kids’ book. Yeah, right. Those books are phenomenal, worth all the attention and fans that they got.

9. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – I read this book for one reason: it was available for free through the Kindle library. I had just gotten my Kindle and desperately wanted to read something on it. I had heard of The Hunger Games, but knew nothing about it. I figured it was worth a read, but didn’t expect much out of it except to play with my new Kindle toy. How surprised was I?

10. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – I got this book because it was on sale through Amazon for $1.99 and I had heard of the author’s name before, connected with other authors that I enjoy (like John Green and Maureen Johnson). I knew it was basically a YA romantic comedy, but I wasn’t expecting to be so enchanted by it. Such a sweet book! It’s now my go-to book if I need cheering up. It just makes me smile.

So there you have it! A new feature and a fun list.

 

23 thoughts on “Tuesday Time!

  1. I think the thing with Twilight is…
    Well I don’t really know. I mostly just like how it is written. I never enjoyed the movies though. Complete tripe.
    And Harry Potter might have started out as kid books. But they ended up as so so so much more!

    My TTT

    • The thing is, Twilight has an interesting premise. It’s just written very poorly. I guess people liked the idea so much, they just gave in to it and ignored everything else. I couldn’t do that, but whatever makes them happy, I suppose. 😉

      And yes, Harry Potter became so much more than just a children’s story. I miss all the excitement when those books were coming out.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • I have mixed feelings about The Casual Vacancy (which I haven’t read). I understand that J.K. Rowling can’t stay in Potterworld forever, as much as we’d like her too. It’s going to be very strange seeing what her writing looks like without those characters and that setting. I do plan on reading The Casual Vacancy one day, but I’m not rushing out to do so because, like you said, it’s not Harry Potter. But at the same time, I want to wish her luck on future endeavors, and what better way to read the new non-Potter book?

        Am I way over thinking this? Of course! It’s what I do! But I definitely understand how you feel.

        Thanks for stopping by!

    • The Name of the Star is an excellent book, but I was definitely reading through it quickly (I read it last year) because I reeeeally want to read the sequel, The Madness Underneath. From what I hear, there is a major twist at the end that has left people slackjawed. Can’t wait to see what it is, although I admit that I’m a little nervous about it as well.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I had the same reaction to The Magicians, almost exactly (down to having it recced by someone whose opinion I can usually rely on to match my own). I’m starting to regret not putting that on my own list. Thanks for the interesting list and descriptions!

    • I’m glad I’m not alone! I was so, so, so disappointed in that one. And it was an easy fix – make the main character be at least a little bit likeable! Or follow one of the other characters and ignore Quentin completely. *sigh* That was another book that had an interesting premise (although Fillory was waaaay too much a rip off of Narnia for me), but it just wasn’t executed right.

      Oh well. We can’t love them all. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. Great teaser… Boo is one of my fave characters in that series! 🙂

    I agree with you on the Twilight. I think the only reason for all the hype was the movies… it became a teen obsession. And Hunger Games… oh boy, I was surprised that one, too, although it didn’t wind up on my list because I had forgotten how iffy I was on reading it. My best friend actually bought me a copy and told me I had to give it at least 70 pages before giving up. Needless to say, I ended up loving it! 🙂

    My TTT

    Brandy @ A Little of the Book Life
    New Follower! 🙂

    • Yay! Thanks for following my blog!

      And yes, Boo is awesome. Have you read The Madness Underneath yet? I’ve had to put off reading it because of other stuff on my list, but I’m starting it tonight. I’ve heard a lot of people talking about it. Apparently there’s a really big thing that happens at the end – knowing what I know about Maureen Johnson, it makes me a little nervous. I’m sure it will be worth it though. 😉

Leave a Reply

