Tuesday Teasers and Top Tens

Teaser Tuesday

Happy Tuesday everybody! That means it’s time to do two of my favorite weekly activities. Starting with Teaser Tuesday, hosted by MizB from “Should Be Reading.” Here’s how it goes:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Today’s teaser once again comes from Of Shadow Born by Dianne Sylvan, which I finished the past weekend.

“So,” Jonathan ventured, keeping his eyes on his book nonchalantly, “are you planning to pursue that whole thing with Miranda, or . . .”

“What thing?” Deven asked, frowning.

“Well, change or no change, she did kiss you. And you did blush when we were talking about it.”

“I don’t blush,” Deven insisted. “And by now I shouldn’t have to ask this question, but, what part of gay do you not get?”

I love Deven and Jonathan. They are definitely my favorite pair.

 

toptentuesday

On to Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the lovely folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” Today’s topic is a little tough for me – the books we read when we need something light and fluffy. Here’s the problem: I don’t usually do light and fluffy. There are a few though that I do enjoy when I need something that isn’t about the end of the world or scary supernatural creatures.

Top Ten (or Five) Books

When You Need Something Light & Fun

1. The Leven Thumps series by Obert Skye – These are probably aimed for middle grade readers, but I love them. They are charmingly whimsical, telling the story of a young boy named Leven who, although he thinks he’s a regular boy, he’s actually from Foo, a magical land where dreams come from. Foo is in danger and it’s Leven to save the day. Even if he has no idea what’s going on.

2. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis – Who doesn’t love the Narnia books? While they do deal with some heavy topics, they are still lovely to read, very straightforward and a great way to remember my childhood.

3. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende – It’s funny how most of these books are children’s books. I guess I regress back to childhood when I need to read something lighter. The movie version of this book was one of my favorites as a kid, but I didn’t read the book until I was older. It’s very different from the movie – they cut a LOT of stuff out, but it still has that magical feel.

4. 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson – Moving up to YA now. This book is so much fun. A young girl named Ginny receives 13 little blue envelopes from her aunt. Here’s the twist – her aunt just died. In an effort to pull Ginny out of her comfort zone, her aunt sends her on a whirlwind scavenger hunt through Europe, leading Ginny on an adventure of a lifetime. It’s funny, a little sad, and very heartwarming, all at the same time.

5. Anything by Stephanie Perkins – I loved Anna and the French Kiss. I’m reading Lola and the Boy Next Door right now. And I can’t wait to read Isla and the Happily Ever After. There’s just something about Perkins’ writing that makes me smile. Her books are cute and romantic and capture the essence of young love. Perfect for a little pick-me-up.

So what are some of your favorite lighter books? Obviously I need to add some more to my list! 🙂

12 thoughts on “Tuesday Teasers and Top Tens

    • That was my problem! I had to think back to when I was a kid to think of anything lighthearted. I like your list too, although some of them I wouldn’t call light necessarily. Good stuff though.

    • It’s the fourth book in a series about vampires living in Austin, Texas. They’re really good, a bit dark, but with a snarky sense of humor. Gotta love that. 🙂

  1. So agreed about Stephanie Perkins! Her books are so much fun and I can’t wait to read Isla. The Maureen Johnson series sounds like one I need to try too.

    • I know! I love Stephanie’s books, and Maureen’s too. I was lucky enough to meet them at a book signing, so my copy of Lola is signed! With purple Sharpie! I really need to track down Isla once my TBR stack goes down a bit.

    • Thanks! I do love Stephanie Perkins. She’s not only a fun author, but she’s a really sweet person. And yes, The Neverending Story was a huge part of my childhood. The book is worth a read.

Leave a Reply

