Not always easy . . .

It’s Tuesday, which means I get to post two of my favorite things, plus read a whole bunch of other blogs and get way too many books to add to my ever growing TBR list.

Teaser Tuesday

Starting with Teaser Tuesday, hosted by MizB at “Should Be Reading.” Here’s how it goes:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I slept a bit, but it was hard to ignore the ghosts once they started chattering. At least they provided some light in the gloom. Every time they moved, a tiny bit of phosphorescence smudged the air, linking where they had just been to where they were going.

–  A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Isn’t that one of the most amazing descriptions of ghosts you’ve ever heard?

wpid-toptentuesday.jpg

Next up, Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the lovely folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This one is a tough subject, literally, and as such, there will possibly be slight spoilers.

Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

1. The Book Thief by Marcus Zuzak – I love reading books where I learn something, and I have learned more about the Holocaust from books like this than in any class at school. This one is unique in the fact that the person telling the story is Death personified.

2. Going Bovine by Libba Bry – I hesitated putting this one on the list, since it’s a very humorous read, but when you get down to it, it is about a boy dying of mad cow disease. It’s a very surreal journey, one where you don’t know what’s real and what’s a hallucination.

3. The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga – Another book where I learned something, since before this, I knew nothing about India except the Bollywood stuff you see on TV. This book tells the story of a man who has been forced to become a criminal and a murderer to survive and explores what happens when your morals are completely stripped away by necessity.

4. Shine by Lauren Myracle – This book was hard to read in places. It tells the story of hate crime in a small Southern town. A young girl tries to solve the mystery of why her estranged best friend (who happens to be gay) was beaten nearly to death, barely hanging onto life in a coma. While doing this, she also has her own demons to try and conquer.

5. Looking for Alaska by John Green – Another book that starts off lighthearted and funny, yet takes a sharp turn at the end. It’s a powerful book about friendship and loss and how fleeting life can be. How someone can be alive and vibrant in one moment, and gone the next, with little to no warning.

6. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – John Green writes a lot of these books! This one focuses on two teenagers, Hazel and Augustus, who are both battling cancer. They meet at a support group, fall in love, and have an amazing adventure together in Amsterdam. The ending will leave you heartbroken.

7. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – I’m guessing most people won’t put this on their list, but I needed at least one dystopian book on mine. I chose this one because of how people have to live in this future – detached from most human contact and living their lives through what is essentially a giant video game. This may sound great to some people, but there’s a deep loneliness there too.

8. We the Animals by Justin Torres – This book is a series of vignettes about three brothers growing up in Brooklyn. Their parents battle drug and alcohol abuse, and life in their house is never easy. Still, the three boys find ways to survive, despite the difficulties life throws at them.

9. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – Where do I even begin with this book? It’s an amazing story, again one that is humorous at times, but ultimately is about people dealing with and facing abuse in several different ways. The book is wonderful, and the movie adaptation really did justice to it.

10. Regina’s Song by David Eddings – While I love Eddings’ work, this is completely different from the fantasy writing he’s known for. After her twin sister’s brutal murder, Reneta has retreated back inside herself, not recognizing anyone or anything until she sees her childhood friend Mark. Mark does everything he can to help her, even when a string of murders look like they could have been done by Reneta herself.

So there’s my teaser and my list. Happy Tuesday everyone!

13 thoughts on “Not always easy . . .

  1. Always enjoy your blog. You can always me about the Holocaust, a subject I’ve dealt with my entire life.

    • Going Bovine is the weirdest book. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it. But you laugh hysterically until you start crying. It’s really kind of amazing, really.

      And don’t get me started on TFIOS. I want to re-read it, but at the same time, I’m dreading it. Such a powerful, emotional book.

  2. It looks like The Book Thief is on a lot of people’s lists! I definitely have to check it out.
    And The Fault In Our Stars! How could I forget to put that on my list? ):
    Great list! 😀

    My TTT

    • The Book Thief is a really, really good book. And The Fault in Our Stars – oh, my heart! I want to re-read that book so badly, but I just don’t know if I’m emotionally prepared. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • I was the same way about this book. It is good, but I have some issues with it as well. Eventually I’ll get around to reviewing it here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

