Tuesday Teasers and Top Tens

Teaser Tuesday

Happy Tuesday everyone! My favorite blogging day! Kicking things off with Teaser Tuesday, hosted by MizB at “Should Be Reading.”

The circus arrives without warning.

No announcements precede it, no paper notices on downtown posts and billboards, no mentions or advertisements in local newspapers. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Can I just say that I am LOVING this book! These are the first lines of the first section, and already it’s so haunting and mysterious!

wpid-toptentuesday.jpg

Next up, a top ten list that I know I can get ten books on! Except that it’s hard to narrow down to just ten books. Decisions, decisions! Oh well. Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday list, hosted by the lovely folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.”

Top Ten Favorite Book Covers

Of Books I’ve Read

Night Circus1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – I know I just finished talking about this, but I love this cover! It’s all silvery and shiny! And mine is slightly 3D, with the circle in the middle a cut out, showing the circus on the next page.

Graceling2. Graceling by Kristin Cashore – This one is really pretty, but I have to say that all of them in this series are beautiful. The later books are more colorful, but I love how this one has the one focal point with the sword.

city of lost souls3. All the Mortal Instruments books by Cassandra Clare – I love everything about these. They capture the feeling of these books perfectly.

House Rules4. All the Chicagoland Vampires books by Chloe Neill – If you want a female protagonist who takes care of business, look no further than Merit. She will fight for the people she loves, no matter what the consequences. Just look at the cover. Doesn’t she just look badass?

Beautiful Creatures5. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl -I’m so glad we decided to review this one on the podcast! This one you have to be careful, since there are movie tie-in covers out there. They are infinitely inferior to the original design, as is usually the case.

Queen-of-Shadows6. The Shadow World series by Dianne Sylvan – Another set of books showing a fierce female protagonist. Don’t cross Miranda Grey-Solomon. She is not one to be trifled with. I mean, just look at her!

iron king7. The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa – Another set of book covers that capture the feel of the books themselves. The covers all feature a face (usually Meghan’s, but the fourth book is Ash) with beautiful abstract designs around it, whether its vines or wires or icicles. They are really pretty sitting side by side on a shelf.

94604878. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – I loved what Riggs did with the old photographs in this story. It was such a brilliant idea. That idea is carried over into the cover design as well. Again, it just looks so mysterious! You have to pick up this book!

demon king9. The Seven Realms books by Cinda Williams Chima – This is another set that looks really pretty lined up together. There are so many things I like about these, from the artwork to the placement of the title and author’s name. They look different from anything else out there, which is a good thing.

discovery of witches10. The All Soul’s Trilogy books by Deborah Harkness – I’ve heard a couple of people say that they picked up the first book because of the cover. And it is quite lovely. Mine looks a bit different from this – it has the skyline of Oxford (I think) along the bottom. Still, it is very nice to look at. And the cover for book two is breathtaking as well. I hope book three is eyecatching as much as these are when it comes out.

16 thoughts on “Tuesday Teasers and Top Tens

  1. I LOVED The Night Circus! I hope you enjoy it! I really love the cover you have here but I own the other cover so I didn’t include it in my TTT. A lot of great cover choices here! πŸ™‚

    • It’s really, really good. If I hadn’t been so tired last night, I would have finished it. Things are ramping up to the ending and it’s so intense, I can’t take it! I need to know what happens!

  2. Great list! I love the Ransom Riggs cover as well – really fantastic book all around. I haven’t yet read BEAUTIFUL CREATURES but I definitely agree the original cover treatment is much more striking and appealing.

    • I love Miss Peregrine’s so much. I need to re-read that one soon. And I usually don’t like the movie covers for books. The only exceptions I have are the Lord of the Rings, but that’s mostly because the casting was so well done. That, and since the books are so old and have had SO many covers, I’m not attached to any one in particular. But yes, the originals are almost always the best.

  3. I love these covers! Sadly I’ve only read one of these so far (Beautiful Creatures) but I have several of these books on my shelf, just waiting for a chance to be read. πŸ˜€ Those urban fantasy books here are new to me (House Rules and Queen of Shadows) – I don’t have much luck with urban fantasy but I’m always looking for new series to try.

    My TTT.

    • The Chicagoland Vampires and the Shadow World series are actually very similar. Both are about vampires and how they exist in the “real” world, but their story is told in two different ways. Both are really good.

Leave a Reply

