Beginnings and Endings

In catching up with my reviews, today I will share my thoughts on Abhorsen by Garth Nix. This is the third and currently final book in his Abhorsen series, although according to GoodReads, a fourth book is planned. I am glad that I read this book, since that means that I completed a series that I started (yay!) but at the same time, it was hard for me to get into this book. I’m not sure why, since I did enjoy it, but it took a long time for me to finish it.

abhorsenAbhorsen continues the story of Lirael and Sameth. Lirael has just found out that she is the true Abhorsen-in-Waiting. They also know that there is a powerful necromancer, known as Hedge, is trying to kill them. Hedge has turned another necromancer, Chlorr of the Mask, into a Greater Dead, giving her control over legions of dead, shadow hands, and much more. All of this is to help Orannis the Destroyer break free of his prison and return to earth.

Put that together with the fact that Sameth’s good friend Nick is unwittingly helping Hedge do all this. Nick is from Ancelstierre, and therefore doesn’t believe in any sort of magic. What sets out to be a visit to a friend turns into a nightmare as Nick is pulled deeper and deeper, giving his very life energy to help the enemy. We also have no idea whether Sabriel and Touchstone are still alive, or if they have any idea of the seriousness of what’s going on back home.

It’s all up to Lirael, who is still trying to adjust to her new life outside the Clayr’s haven in the north. She is the only one capable of fighting the Destroyer. And then there’s the question of who exactly Sameth is, now that he’s not the Abhorsen-in-Waiting. He’s been given the robes of the Wallmakers, but he has no idea what that even means.

I really like this world, I like the characters, I like the magic system. I can’t tell you why I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I wanted to. I think part of it was that it got a little slow in the middle. It didn’t always keep my interest. But then something would pop in there and catch my eye again, and I’d want to keep reading. I still think the Disreputable Dog is one of my favorite characters, both because of her name and who she is. She’s awesome.

I am still glad I read this book though, because it did tie up some loose ends quite neatly. I still think book two (Lirael) was my favorite book in the series, with this book tied with the first one. I have no idea where book four will go from here, but I’ll still probably read it when it comes out.

Leave a Reply

