Tuesday Teasers and Top Tens (June 4th)

Ah, Tuesday! My favorite blogging day! Let’s get started, shall we?

wpid-toptentuesday.jpg

I’m starting off with Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the lovely folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This week’s topic was both easy and hard – books that include travel. Now, since I read a lot of fantasy, this should be easy – there’s almost always some sort of quest where one or more characters go on a journey to do or find something. I wanted to include those, but I also wanted to find some books outside the fantasy genre to include as well. So here we go.

Top Ten (or Seven) Books Featuring Travel In Some Way

1. 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson – Y’all know how much I love Maureen Johnson, and any list about traveling would have to include this book. I mean, come on! It’s a scavenger hunt through Europe! At the end of it all, I wished I had a relative who left me these clues and sent me on an adventure.

2. The Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien – And throw in The Hobbit as well. Actually, all the Middle Earth books had to do with traipsing around the world, looking for adventure, fighting orcs and other uglies. Lots of travel in this one.

3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling – There was a lot of criticism about this book when it came out because it broke the Harry Potter mold. It wasn’t just another year going to Hogwarts. Harry, Ron and Hermione were on the road, hunting for Horcruxes, and traveling all over the U.K. to do it.

4. Paper Towns by John Green – This book didn’t feature travel as a major theme, but the ending includes my favorite road trip ever put to paper. It is funny, exciting, and heartbreaking all at the same time. Which brings me to . . .

5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – I’ll just say this – I want to go to Amsterdam with Hazel and Augustus to track down a random, elusive, reclusive author who doesn’t like people! That is all.

6. The Belgariad series by David Eddings – And you can throw in the Mallorean, the Elenium, and the Tamuli series as well. Most of Eddings’ series involve that fantasy quest trope I mentioned, but Eddings does it very well and was one of the best world builders out there.

7. Going Bovine by Libba Bray – I want to re-read this book so much, but I don’t know when I’ll have time. Who doesn’t like going on a trip to find a cure for your deadly disease, with companions like a punk rock angel, a goth dwarf, and a garden gnome who might be the Norse god Balder in disguise? Did I mention that this is not strictly a fantasy book? And it might all be in someone’s head?

There are many more I could probably add to this, but I’ll stop there.

Teaser Tuesday

Next up is Teaser Tuesday, hosted by MizB at “Should Be Reading.” The rules are simple:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Here’s mine:

“Sofie, why are there so many men downstairs?”

“The poacher in the cages was found dead this morning, Lady,” Sofie said. “An arrow in his throat.”

Fire by Kristin Cashore

This is on the page where my bookmark is, so I have no idea what the significance could be. So I guess it’s a teaser for me as well as for all of you!

21 thoughts on “Tuesday Teasers and Top Tens (June 4th)

  1. Now that you have me hooked on fantasy, I don’t want to do anything but read. Can I come back there where I have nothing else to do – like laundry and housework and cooking, yuk?

    • I loved Going Bovine. It’s such a fun, weird book. Just a warning – it might make you cry, and the tear jerking sneaks up on you. It’s worth it though.

  2. I agree, there’s a ton of “travel” in fantasy once you consider the journey aspect. I didn’t want to bog my list down with one genre either so I sort of limited my fantasy titles.

    • I tried to as much as possible, but I do read a lot of fantasy, and pretty much all of them travel in one way or another. Come to think of it, I can’t think of many fantasy stories where the characters stay in one place! But I tried to pick at least a few non-fantasy books to throw in, just to mix it up a little. 🙂

Leave a Reply

