Teasers and Top Tens – June 25th

Happy Tuesday everyone! This is the day of my two favorite features, so let’s get started!

Teaser Tuesday

First up is Teaser Tuesday, hosted by MizB at “Should Be Reading.” The rules are simple. Here’s how to play!

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Your sons flew that car to Harry’s house and back last night!” shouted Mrs. Weasley. “What have you got to say about that, eh?”

“Did you really?” said Mr. Weasley eagerly. “Did it go all right? I – I mean,” he faltered as sparks flew from Mrs. Weasley’s eyes, “that – that was very wrong, boys – very wrong indeed . . .”

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

I just love the Weasleys. Don’t you? 🙂

* * *

toptentuesday

Next up, Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This is a topic I have been really looking forward to, so here we go!

Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2013

1. The Night Circus by Erin Morganstern – Words cannot describe how much I loved this book, although I’d better find some words, since I’m reviewing it this week! Mysterious, ethereal, beautiful, romantic . . . and that still doesn’t do it justice. So, so good.

2. Of Shadow Born by Dianne Sylvan – This long awaited fourth book in the Shadow World series was worth the wait. The plot thickens, more twists and turns, and my favorite vampires are off on an entirely new adventure.

3. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – My first introduction to Stephanie Perkins, which I was very glad to have. Her books are sweet and funny, and so is she. It was a blast getting to meet her in Raleigh.

4. The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson – Another long awaited sequel that was worth it, although now I really need the next one. A crazy, unexpected ending left me (and most of Twitter, apparently) stunned and confused and clammering for the next book. We need it now!!!

5. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl – This was another book with a great atmospheric feel to it. I definitely plan to read the rest of the books in the series at some point. And see the movie, to see if it was any good.

6. Blackout by Mira Grant – These books are just . . . wow. Unexpected does not even cover it. I never thought I would enjoy a zombie book series as much as I did. They are sharp, suspenseful, with an ambiguous final act that feels just right. You couldn’t force a perfect ending to these books, and I’m glad that Mira Grant didn’t try to.

7. House Rules by Chloe Neill – I got to read the entire Chicagoland Vampires series this year, and it has since become my second favorite vampire series of all time. House Rules will always hold a special place in my heart because it was the first physical copy ARC I’ve ever gotten. I’m grateful for the digital ARC’s, don’t get me wrong, but there was something special about holding the actual book.

8. Skinned by Robin Wasserman – This book was a total surprise. I picked it up at the used bookstore knowing very little about it, and certainly did not expect what I got. It was thought provoking and strange, but also very compelling. Another series I want to finish.

9. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness – While I’m not as rabid a fan as some, I did really like this book. It was fun to get completely lost in the history, and anytime you get to traipse around Europe is a good time.

10. Arrows of the Queen by Mercedes Lackey – My first introduction to the Valdemar books, and yes, I do plan to eventually read them all. That means a lot of reading though, so we’ll see when I can schedule it all in.

Please share your teasers or top tens!

22 thoughts on “Teasers and Top Tens – June 25th

  1. Yep! I HEART the Weasleys, they are epic! And I loved your teaser! 🙂 Makes me want to read these books all over again. The Night Circus is on my shelf, I bought it at Halloween last year, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. That paragraph describing the circus on the back cover gives me shivers! Glad I have something wonderful to look forward to. 🙂

    • I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again (probably on Thursday) – The Night Circus is WONDERFUL!! I think it’s probably now on my favorite books of all time list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

