Teasers and Top Tens – July 2

Happy Tuesday everybody! Time for two of my favorite features of the week!

Teaser Tuesday

First up is Teaser Tuesday, hosted by the lovely MizB at “Should Be Writing.” Here’s how to play:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

In keeping with my recent tradition, I bring you something from the Harry Potter books:

“Your parents gave their lives to keep you alive, Harry. A poor way to repay them – gambling their sacrifice for a bag of magic tricks.”

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Bonus points to whoever can correctly guess who’s speaking here. 🙂

wpid-toptentuesday.jpgThis week’s topic for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by “The Broke and the Bookish,” is a little bit hard for me. Intimidating books. These are the books that are huge, or might be tackling a difficult subject. They might be books that everyone else loves, but that you’re sure you will not like. First off, I must say that I don’t get intimidated by books easily. I was an English major, for crying out loud! If I got intimidated, I’d never have graduated! So here are the books I came up with.

Top Ten (or Five) Most Intimidating Books

1. A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin – These books are huge and have a massive cast of characters, but that isn’t why they intimidated me. I have several friends who ADORE this series. They think of the characters as their friends. What would happen if I didn’t love the books as much as they did? Thankfully, I did enjoy the books very much.

2. The Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien – I admit it. I didn’t read Tolkien until after I saw the Peter Jackson movies. They are legends, the paramount fantasy books. What if I didn’t worship them like everyone else? What if I liked the movies better (which I did, in a way – yes, I know that’s blasphemy)? Fortunately, I did enjoy the books. Someday I’ll tackle the Silmarilion, but that’s a whole other intimidating book

3. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – I read this book when I was a teenager, for the sole reason that I loved the musical so much.The book is ginormous and, as a teenager, I was way unprepared for this. It’s a book I definitely want to read again at some point.

4. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – Y’all know I love John Green. His books are amazing, several of them making my all-time favorites list. But he’s also known for tackling difficult, often tear jerking, subjects. I already knew that this book was about teens with cancer. I already knew it would make me cry (how could it not?). I put off reading it for a fairly long time just so I could prepare myself.

5. Shine by Lauren Myracle – I heard about this book during the National Book Award scandal (which you can read Myracle’s reaction to here). I may never have heard about this book otherwise, since Twitter blew up about it when this was going on. Because of all the controversy, I wanted to read it, but hesitated when I saw the subject matter – a teen boy in a small Southern town, the victim of a hate crime because he’s gay. I knew this would be hard to read, but also knew it was important to read. It didn’t disappoint.

Leave links to your Tuesday posts in the comments!

22 thoughts on “Teasers and Top Tens – July 2

    • Anna Karenina almost made my list as well, except I actually did read it and it wasn’t that bad. It’s a big book, but pretty easy reading once you get going with it.

    • Yay! Welcome to my blog!

      Yeah, I love John Green, but his books make me a blubbering mess. And like you said on your blog – cancer is a scary word. It’s like you’re setting yourself up for tragedy! Still, I did read it and it was a beautiful story. And yes, I was a blubbering mess. It was worth it though. 😉

    • This is true. And I finally did it. It just took a while. Now I’m intimidated by the TV show! Everyone says it’s great, but I’m afraid to watch it!

    • You aren’t the only one – there are a few others reading my blots about the HP books who said they haven’t read them either. That said, you should definitely read them! They’re so good!

  1. Game of Thrones intimidates me too! Each book is so long and I’ve heard it is complicated to read. Before I read TFIOS I was scared of reading it too, mainly because of the subject matter, but after reading it I was so happy that I did =).

    Ange @ Moonlight Reader
    My Top Ten

Leave a Reply

