Teasers and Top Tens – August 13th

It’s taking a bit of effort to get back into the whole blogging mindset. Seriously! I go on one vacation and I get soft! I need to work out my blogging muscles again! Here we go with a meme-ful Tuesday post!

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is hosted every week by MizB at “Should Be Reading.” The rules are simple:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

What had happened to all the people Leck had made disappear? How had their stories ended?

– Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore

Yes, I’m finally reading Bitterblue! I’m only about 8% of the way through, but it’s good so far!

wpid-toptentuesday.jpg

Next up, it’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the lovely folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This week’s topic is a bit open, which is always fun – your top ten favorite books that take place in a specific setting. My setting of choice? Boarding schools! Seriously, have you seen how many books are set in schools these days? I like how so many of them take the boarding school fantasy (I think all kids have had a desire to go to boarding school at one point or another) and make it a little bit different.

Top Ten (or Six) Books Set

In A Boarding School

1. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – Yeah, you know this one had to be there. Of all the books set in a boarding school, this is one of the most celebrated. If you read these books and don’t want to go to Hogwarts, there is something wrong with you.

2. Looking for Alaska by John Green – A much more realistic story set in a boarding school in Alabama, this book will make you laugh and cry, often at the same time.

3. The Gemma Doyle trilogy by Libba Bray – These books are also beautifully written, set the Victorian Era at a boarding school for girls. There’s also a lot of magic and mystery, which is always fun.

4. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card – This was one of my favorite books as a kid. A boarding school up in space, full of genius children that are expected to save the world from invading aliens. What’s not to like?

5. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins – Another magical school with mystery. Sophie is a young witch sent to Hecate Hall, a school for magical delinquents. Of course, not all is what it seems.

6. The Mythos Academy series by Jennifer Estep – The story of Gwen Frost, a young gypsy girl, sent to live among her fellow mythical creatures (Celts, Spartans, Valkyries, etc). If you like magic, gods, goddesses, and mythology, you will love these.

Please leave your teasers and top tens in the comments!

16 thoughts on “Teasers and Top Tens – August 13th

    • Mythos Academy was a lot of fun, but I ended up having to read it super fast because the podcast got an ARC of the last book that came out. Don’t get me wrong – I was very grateful to get it! But I didn’t get to enjoy the books as much as I could have because I had to rush. Definitely want to give them another go at some point.

    • It’s a really good book. OSC gets a lot of bad press (mostly because he’s a raging bigot, but I digress), but I fell in love with his writing before I knew all of that. I guess being a jerk doesn’t stop you from writing a good story.

  1. I’m surprised you left off Maureen Johnson’s books. I also keep meaning to read the Mythos Academy books. Do you happen to know anyone who has them 😉

  2. Just downloaded “First Frost” to my Kindle. Now I have no excuse not to start the Mythos Academy series. Sounds like it should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

