Teasers and Top Tens – August 27th

Happy Tuesday everyone!

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly feature hosted by MizB at “Should Be Reading.” Here’s how to play:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

On the next block, we encounter more terrified refugees, but fewer soldiers. Just when it seems we might have caught a break, there’s a cracking sound, like an egg hitting the side of a bowl but magnified a thousand times.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

I just finished re-reading The Hunger Games trilogy. Wow. I can’t even . . . just wow. It still gets to me, even knowing the ending.

wpid-toptentuesday.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the lovely folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This week’s topic is one that is near and dear to my heart – favorite secondary characters. It reminds me of the song from the musical “Title of Show.”

The secondary characters are calling the shots while the stars are snacking offstage.

It was their idea to bring us along, so now we’re hijacking this page

Of the script. We’re equipped to steer the ship until this trippy skit ends.

And by the end of this song, we’ll be best friends!

– “Secondary Characters” from [Title of Show]

Sorry. Just had to get that out of my system! So this list is dedicated to all those wonderful characters who weren’t the main focus of the books, but still were able to shine in their own ways.

Top Ten Most Memorable Secondary Characters

1. Hermione Granger (Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling) – I don’t really have to explain this one, do I? Basically, Hermione is me. She’s an overachiever who’s very book smart, always gets near perfect grades, and spends as much time as possible in the library.

2. Rue (The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins) – She’s sweet, she’s brave, she’s innocent, but she’s also a fighter. Despite being the youngest tribute in the Hunger Games, no one counted her out. Her death is one of the most haunting things I’ve ever read.

3. Marcus Lincoln, aka “Radar” (Paper Towns by John Green) – A good friend to Quentin, the novel’s protagonist, Radar was nicknamed after the character on MASH (despite being African American and no longer wearing glasses). He’s a big nerd who runs a Wikipedia like website (the Omnictionary) and is very embarassed that his parents own the world’s largest collection of black Santas.

4. Patrick (The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky) – A high school senior, Patrick adopts main character Charlie (a freshman) into his group of friends. Patrick has to battle a lot of his own inner demons, but he’s also a loyal friend and seems like a lot of fun to hang around with.

5. Deven O’Donnell (Shadow World series by Dianne Sylvan) – The Prime of the Western United States, Deven is a powerful vampire, one of the oldest still living. He’s also a fierce ally to Miranda and David, with lots of layers of complexity to his character and personality. I love that he basically looks like a goth elfish angel. Despite his frail, small appearance, he is a deadly fighter.

6. Silk (The Belgariad and Mallorean by David Eddings) – Silk is one of Garion’s companions. He’s from the country of Drasnia and known to be a thief, a spy, an actor and an acrobat. He’s also a part of the prophesy that will end up saving the world. No pressure.

7. Robbie Goodfell, aka Puck (The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa) – Puck. Yes, that Puck. Despite being the trickster that Shakespeare warned us about, Robbie truly cares for Meghan and tries to help her as she enters the Never Never and gets tangled up in fairy court politics.

8. Simon Lewis (Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare) – What can I say? I like the nerdy boys! Simon is Clary’s best friend, who also happens to be in love with her. Despite losing her to Jace (who he despises at first), Simon still does what he can to help Clary save her mother.

9. Mary Malone (His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman) – A former nun turned scientist, Mary immediately believes Lyra’s unbelievable story. She sets off on an incredible journey and not only helps Lyra and Will, but also tries to help this other species that has adopted her as part of their family.

10. Dulcie (Going Bovine by Libba Bray) – Is she real? Is she a hallucination? Do we ever know for sure? Dulcie is an angel sent to help Cameron on his “adventure.” She also has bright pink hair, wears combat boots, and likes to paint her wings different colors.

Please leave your Tuesday posts in comments!

23 thoughts on “Teasers and Top Tens – August 27th

    • Grim! I love him also. We should make a list of favorite awesome characters who are also cats. Grim, Church, throw in the Cheshire Cat as well. That would be fun. 🙂

      • How could I forget Chairman Meow! Seriously, we need to suggest the topic to The Broke and the Bookish – top ten best characters who are also cats. I’ll bet we could come up with a bunch!

    • That’s because Rue is awesome! I would never be able to be as brave and capable as Rue is, nevermind Katniss. A twelve year old is a better person than I will ever be, end of story. Besides that, I think Rue’s story really hit home with how bad things were in Panem – if such a lovely, innocent little girl could be basically sent to her death for no real reason, you know things are messed up big time.

  1. Rue!!! I feel like I could write an essay about her, what an amazing character! I think her and her situation and friendship with Katniss is one of the most memorable things (and stronger points) from THG. Also Mary Malone! I really want to re-read His Dark Materials now. I think Iorek Byrnison or Pantalaimon would have been my choices but Mary was such a memorable character as well. Great choices!

    • Agreed. I absolutely loved Rue. Her death is one of the saddest things I’ve ever read. I wasn’t right for days. And I don’t know what it was about Mary Malone, but she was just such a sweet person. She had an innocence to her, despite being an adult working in a very corrupt world. I need to do a re-read of those too. Such good books!

    • I know! He had his faults, a lot of them, but he was still such a good character and had such a good heart. He was a senior. He didn’t have to reach out to this quiet little freshman, but he did because he knew Charlie needed someone. I really liked how Ezra Miller portrayed Patrick in the movie as well – I thought the whole movie was excellent, actually. Have you seen it?

      • Yes! I actually thought it was incredibly well done, which is so rare for movies from books. I thought Emma Watson was great as well, and the portrayed the story so well. And of course, Ezra Miller was spot on!

      • She was very good, as was the actor playing Charlie (the name escapes me). Actually that whole cast was pretty awesome. I need to watch that again.

  2. After that description, I have to pick up Paper Towns. I’ve loved all the other Green books that I’ve tried. So I bet I’d love this one too.

    Great list. I didn’t make a list this week, but had to hop around anyway to see what everyone is putting because this is an awesome category

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday for 6/23/15 | Life With No Plot

Leave a Reply

