Book Review: Mind Games by Kiersten White

Another weekend book review! There’s a very good reason why I need to do better with book reviews. I read this book back in July, and because it’s been a while, I’m having a hard time thinking about what I want to say about it. I think that’s why I’ve jumped ahead with some of my other reviews (like Bitterblue, which I obviously finished way after this one). Oh well. One day I will get organized.

Yeah right. And then the world will come to an end. But I digress. 🙂

mind games

Today’s review is on Mind Games by Kiersten White. I was very happy to pick this up on one of those Kindle weekend sales. I had seen several other blotters review it and the opinions seemed pretty mixed. Which makes sense, because my opinion was pretty mixed as well.

This is the story of two sisters, Sophia (usually just called Fia) and Annie. They were orphaned at an early age and end up living at a school for children with special abilities. Annie is blind – physically, at least, because she does have these visions that give her glimpses into the future. Fia also has paranormal abilities, but they are harder to describe. Basically, she has amazing instincts. She can look at a situation and immediately be able to see a solution to it. She can do anything from picking the correct stocks in the Stock Market, to getting away with murder.

Keane, the headmaster of the “school” wants to use Fiat’s abilities, and he isn’t willing to take no for an answer. He keeps Annie hostage, knowing that Fia will do anything to protect her sister. Fia becomes a very broken, cynical person because of this situation, until one day she is sent to kill a young man who she can’t bring herself to kill. Against her better judgment, she helps him escape.

Fia and Annie are trapped, surrounded by people with the ability to read minds or emotions. Any plans they make to get away from Keane would be immediately found out and quashed. The plot thickens when Keane’s son, James, enters the picture. He claims that he wants to help Fia, but Fia doesn’t really trust anyone anymore. Add to that an outside conspiracy trying to come after Keane and his school, and the situation gets even murkier.

The main problem that I had with this book was that I kept getting confused. The plots kept twisting and twisting. The point of view switches not just between Fia and Annie (both told in first-person), but it also jumps around time wise. There were times while reading that I wasn’t sure what was going on and I’m sure there were connections I should have made that I just missed. However, this is one that I will make time to read again, because I did really like the characters. I wanted to see how Fia and Annie were able to escape the system, if they were able to at all. Their devotion to one another is beautiful, yet complicated, especially given how psychologically broken Fia has become. Annie is the only one she is able to trust, yet at the same time, she is resentful of always having to be the strong one.

Overall, I did enjoy this book, but it will definitely take at least one more reading in order for me to get everything out of it. The sequel, Perfect Lies, is scheduled to come out in February (according to GoodReads) and I will probably pick it up. I’m curious to see where this goes.

Also, if you don’t already, go ahead and follow Kiersten White on Twitter (@kierstenwhite). She’s adorable!

One thought on “Book Review: Mind Games by Kiersten White

Leave a Reply

