Teasers and Top Tens – September 24th

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the lovely MizB at “Should Be Reading.” If you would like to play along, here are the rules:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is actually the entire first paragraph of the book I will start this afternoon – so a bit more than a teaser. It just really resonated with me.

Every morning I wake up and tell myself this: It’s just one day, one twenty-four hour period to get yourself through. I don’t know when exactly I started giving myself this daily pep talk – or why. It sounds like a twelve-step mantra and I’m not in Anything Anonymous, though to read some of the crap they write about me, you’d think I should be. I have the kind of life a lot of people would probably sell a kidney to just experience a bit of. But still, I find the need to remind myself of the temporariness of a day, to reassure myself that I got through yesterday, I’ll get through today.

Where She Went by Gayle Forman

It’s a nice little reminder that even if someone looks like they have it all together, chances are they probably don’t. We all have problems. Some of us are just better at hiding them. 🙂

wpid-toptentuesday.jpg

Next up is Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This week’s topic was a bit problematic for me – favorite sequels. What exactly constitutes a sequel? I read a lot of series, or at least trilogies. Would a sequel be the second book in the sequence? Or would book three be considered the sequel of book two? Am I overthinking this? (answer: of course I am, it’s what I do)

So for the sake of argument, these are my favorite book twos of a series. In no particular order, and without a lot of explanation, since I am running a little short on time this morning.

1. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (The Hunger Games trilogy)

2. Shadowflame by Dianne Sylvan (the Shadow World series)

3. City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare (the Mortal Instruments series)

4. The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson (the Shades of London series)

5. The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa (the Iron Fey series)

6. The Subtle Knife by Phillip Pullman (His Dark Materials trilogy)

7. A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin (A Song of Ice and Fire series)

8. Queen of Sorcery by David Eddings (the Belgariad series)

9. Deadline by Mira Grant (Newsflesh trilogy)

10. Rebel Angels by Libba Bray (the Gemma Doyle trilogy)

There are probably dozens more I could add to that list, but those are all great ones. Please leave your posts in comments!

17 thoughts on “Teasers and Top Tens – September 24th

    • That first paragraph really spoke to me. Drew me right into the book, which is pretty good so far.

      Nice to see you blogging again! Hope your hiatus was restful! 🙂

    • It was very hard to narrow down – I read so many series, it’s not even funny! I actually had to go to a GoodReads list of “Best Sequels” and see which ones I had read just to get this list. The first round had about 20 books or so?

  1. I’m always “out of breath” after reading these. I’d have to be in confinement to find the time to read like that. Would love to though!. So glad you read and relate so I can enjoy!/

    • It’s actually a guy speaking, which surprised me. Given the events of the first book, I expected the girl narrator there to continue going on here, and she had every reason to feel this way. Then I realized it was a different person, and I really wanted to know more. Anyway, I love when I find a description in a book that really speaks to how I’m feeling, or felt in the past. They’re always able to put it so much more eloquently than I can.

Leave a Reply

