Teasers and Top Tens – October 8th

Happy Tuesday everyone!

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is hosted by MizB at “Should Be Reading.” If you want to play along, here are the rules:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Anluan’s library was the most chaotic place I’d ever had the ill luck to stumble into. It was a sizable chamber.

Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier

This is completely random, since I haven’t even started this book yet – I just turned to page 37 and let my eye wander. I see a big library though, so that makes me happy.

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This week’s subject:

Top Ten Best/Worst Series Enders

As we know, I read a lot of series. This should be pretty easy, although not all the series I’ve read are actually finished. I will give you five endings that I like and five endings that I found lacking. Just a note – the ones that made the worst list are still books that I really like. It’s just how they fit into the series and whether or not they were a satisfying ending.

Best

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling – Did you really believe that this would not show up? Actually it’s been a while since Harry Potter has been on my blog, so this was very fortuitous!
  2. Enchanter’s End Game by David Eddings – This is such an epic story, and the ending is very satisfying indeed. An ultimate battle between good and evil.
  3. Tuck by Stephen Lawhead – This retelling of Robin Hood is fabulous, another series that I couldn’t put down. This ending book was no exception.
  4. The Amber Spyglass by Phillip Pullman – I love the story world of these books, and the last book of this trilogy brings everything together.
  5. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – Yep. I just finished this reread. So so good! I particularly liked that the ending is not easy. Everyone still has a lot to do to recover, which was very realistic.

Worst

  1. Xenocide by Orson Scott Card – While I’m a big fan of Ender’s Game, the rest of that series went downhill. To be honest, whenever I read Ender’s Game, I jump to the Ender’s Shadow series to finish. It’s much better.
  2. The Wicked Day by Mary Stewart – I love King Arthur stories, and this series is wonderful, following Merlin’s story from childhood. The last books don’t feature Merlin hardly at all, so that detracted from my enjoyment.
  3. An Acceptable Time by Madeline L’Engle – I learned about this book fairly recently. I adore the original series. Those books were favorites of mine in school. This last book just didn’t do it for me.
  4. Blackout by Mira Grant – This whole series kept me on the edge of my seat, and the final book was no exception. The main problem I had with it was that the ending sort of just trailed off. I wanted more!
  5. Inferno by Dan Brown – I love the Robert Langdon books, and although this book was good, I was starting to get a little tired of the formula.

Please leave your posts in comments!

10 thoughts on “Teasers and Top Tens – October 8th

    • I’ve liked a few of Dan Brown’s books, but the last couple have only been so-so for me.

      And I will definitely stop by your blog! Thanks for following mine!

  1. Enchanter’s End Game caught my eye, since I just started re- reading the Belgariad (its been many years and I don’t remember a lot). Also Tuck I’ve been wanting to read that series, I’ve heard its good but just haven’t gotten to it yet. Soon I hope. Good list!

Leave a Reply

