Teasers and Top Tens – October 15th

Teaser Tuesday

Happy Tuesday everyone! Teaser Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by MizB at “Should Be Reading.” Here are the rules if you want to play along:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

They came for Quentin one night in January.

He knew it would happen at night – it was always at breakfast that they noticed that the Fourth Years were gone. It must have been two or three in the morning, but he woke up instantly when Professor Van der Weghe knocked on his door.

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

This is a reread for me for the book club over at the Mallorean Tavern. I’m trying to see if I enjoy it better on this read than I did the first time.

wpid-toptentuesday.jpg

Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” Today’s topic is funny to me, since usually I’m the one doing the forcing.  There are many different ways books can be forced on you. I will split these up by books that I was forced to read at school, and books I was forced to read by friends.

School

  1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – I had to read this book my senior year of high school and it very quickly became one of my favorite books of all time. I immediately identified with Jane, who doesn’t want her station in life to stand in her way. She’s a fighter who knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to go get it.
  2. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky – Another book from my senior year of high school. It got pulled into this story right away – a man battles with the idea that murder is acceptable if it serves the greater good. Do some people deserve to die? That question is never completely answered, but a man looses his mind trying to find out.
  3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – I didn’t read this book until college, and while I didn’t enjoy the class I had to read it for, I did really enjoy this book. Romance and mystery, all wrapped up in the decadence of the Roaring 20s.
  4. 1984 by George Orwell – I love me some dystopian literature, so why not read the granddaddy of them all? I read this back in college and adored it. It was so hopeful and heartbreaking at the same time.
  5. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – I’m surprised that it took me so long to read Frankenstein, but I didn’t read it until college. Once I started it, I was hooked. It is so haunting and scary, but completely different from what I was expecting.

Friends

  1. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon – I had to read this for a book club and it is by far one of the most interesting and unique books I’ve ever read. It’s the journal of an autistic boy who is trying to investigate the death of a dog that happens right outside his house. Well written and extremely thought provoking.
  2. The Chicagoland Vampires series by Chloe Neill What happens when your friend and podcast co-host gets an ARC for book 7 in a series? You have to read the first six books really, really fast. But that’s okay, because the Chicagoland Vampires books were well worth the binge read.
  3. The Mythos Academy series by Jennifer Estep What happens when your friend and podcast co-host decides to get another ARC for book 4 in a series? Sigh. She keeps doing this to me, but since I’ve loved all the books she’s picked, I can’t really complain too much.
  4. Sabriel by Garth Nix – This was another book that was chosen for a book club pick, which I had never heard of before, but I’m really glad that I got to read it. I liked the characters, I liked the fantasy world and the magic system.
  5. Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay – Another book club read. Just, wow. This book blew me away. I love Kay’s style – it’s so fluid and magical. It’s an epic fantasy standalone book that works, which doesn’t happen very often.

Please leave your teasers and top ten posts in comments!

4 thoughts on “Teasers and Top Tens – October 15th

  1. While I didn’t “force” you to read this – I did strongly recommend it to you 🙂 That would be “City of Bones” by Cassandra Clare and it got you started on the whole “City of . . .” series. (Too bad the movie was such a disappointment.)

Leave a Reply

