Teasers and Top Tens for October 22nd

Good morning and happy Tuesday to one and all!

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by MizB at “Should Be Reading.” Here are the rules if you want to play along:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

”Oh, come on. Trusting Marcus is stupid. Trying to get past the Dauntless at the fence is stupid. Going against the Dauntless and factionless is stupid. All three combined is . . . a different kind of stupid formerly unheard of by humankind.”

“Unfortunately, it’s also the best plan we have.”

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

I am really enjoying this series so far. I’m really glad that the next book comes out next month so I don’t have to wait too long.

wpid-toptentuesday.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by “The Broke and the Bookish.” This week’s topic is fun.

Top Ten Most Ununsual Character Names

Since I read a lot of fantasy, this should be pretty easy. I just need to go down my bookcase.

  1. Anything by J.R.R. Tolkien – Let’s face it, the man was a master linguist, inventing several of his own languages in order to make Middle Earth a rich and beautifully portrayed world. Naturally his names are going to be cool – Frodo, Meriadoc, Gandalf, Aragorn, Legolas, Boromir, all the elf names I can’t even pronounce. Just to name a few.
  2. Parzival from Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – This is the name of the avatar used by main character Wade Watts. An unusual derivation of the name “Percival,” one of the knights who searched for the Holy Grail, this name is a perfect fit for a character out to win a contest by searching for a mysterious object hidden in the largest video game ever created.
  3. Dianora from Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay – This is a book that needs to go back into my re-read circulation. It’s so good, and features so many interesting names. This one is by far my favorite. I love this character anyway, but her name is so beautiful and so much fun to say! If I ever considered naming one of my kids after a fictional character, this name would be a contender.
  4. Angharad from the King Raven series by Stephen Lawhead – Another set of books with fascinating names, mostly of Welsh derivation. This character is a wise woman, mystical, and a much needed ally. I wish I could find out if her name means anything, but I couldn’t figure it out. Google Translate only goes so far!
  5. Anything by David Eddings – See my comment on J.R.R. Tolkien. Eddings was the first fantasy author I ever got into, and his names are pretty cool. Belgareth, Garion, Leldoran, Mandorallan, Polgara, Torak. Fun!
  6. Dragonrider names from The Dragonriders of Pern series by Anne McCaffery – What makes these so interesting is the fact that once they get chosen by a dragon, their name changes. Shortens, contracts, with an apostrophe. It makes for some difficult pronunciations though – how exactly do you say “F’nor?” Other examples: F’lar, R’gul, T’ton. And her other, non-contracted names are awesome too, like Robinton and Moreta.
  7. Hermione from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – As a former English major, I even know where her name comes from, and I still think it’s a little strange. Why would you do this to a little girl! Don’t get me wrong, it’s a beautiful name, taken from the Shakespeare play A Winter’s Tale, but still. I know for a fact that a lot of people had no idea how to pronounce this until the movies came along. Oh well. It’s iconic now, a rallying point for all book lovers and overachievers!
  8. The Folletti from The Treachery of Beautiful Things by Ruth Frances Long – I just started this one, so I’m sure there will be more weird stuff to come. The Folletti are a kind of fairy that live in the forest, and not nice fairies either. For some reason, this name doesn’t sound very fey to me, but it’s still unusual and interesting.
  9. Anything from the Leven Thumps series by Obert Skye – If you haven’t read these books, you should. They are so much fun! And the names are crazy – our main character is Leven Thumps and he’s trying to get to a place called Foo. Enough said. There’s also a girl named Winter, a toothpick named Geth, and a weird furry creature named Clover. The chapter titles are also really fun, my favorite being “Boats Are Too Slow and Planes Are Too Complicated.”
  10. Four from the Divergent series by Veronica Roth – Just throwing this one out there, since I’m reading this series right now. I was drawn to this character immediately, not just because he’s awesome, but because his name is a number. None of the other characters have numbers for names, and it made me really curious to see what his deal was. And of course, it was an awesome explanation.

Please leave your teasers and top ten lists in comments!

37 thoughts on “Teasers and Top Tens for October 22nd

  1. Four is amazing. I actually think Allegiant comes out today, but I could be wrong – I need to check! 🙂 Love the teaser, I don’t actually remember those lines, now I’m thinking I should reread the 1st 2 before tackling the final book but we’ll see. Cool teaser honey. I haven’t posted one this week as I was too busy reading, lol, sorry.

  2. I hope you are enjoying Insurgent! I really enjoyed reading it, more so than Divergent I think, because we get to see a lot of the different factions and learn more about the factionless in it. I also have Hermione on my list this week and it took me so long to learn how to pronounce her name. I do love it though! 🙂

    • I’ve enjoyed the whole series so far. Has a definite Hunger Games vibe, which I dig. I can see why it’s so popular.

      And I would never have been able to pronounce Hermione’s name if A). I hadn’t seen the first movie before reading the books, or B). taken a Shakespeare class in college where we studied A Winter’s Tale. It’s a great name though, and it fits the character so well.

  3. Mercedes Lackey’s got some unusual names too – Savil, Vanyel, Tylendel, Yfandes… and those are all in the same series. Kethryveris, Tarma, Warrl, Kerowyn… Skif, Elcarth, Selenay, Elspeth… lots of them. And that’s not even getting into the Hawkbrothers… with names like Darkwind and Firesong, and last names with apostrophes, like k’Treva. And the bondbirds, with names like Vree and Hurr and Hylarr.

    • Oh, I did have trouble – limiting it to ten! You can see that I cheated with my “Everyone from . . .” entries – I couldn’t narrow it down! This was a fun topic.

  4. I love so many Harry Potter names. Hermione is pretty, even if it’s hard to pronounce from seeing it. But then again, Siobahn is a fairly popular name, and it’s no better. 🙂

    I always stuck whatever vowel made sense with the Dragonriders’ names.

    • I could have made up this list from just Harry Potter characters. J.K. Rowling was a master with her names!

      And I pretty much did the same thing with the Dragonriders, but it still was hard for me to wrap my head around.

Leave a Reply

