Book Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Before I start with this book review, a little update from yesterday. On Tuesday, commenter Annie @ Book Blather mentioned that Allegiant was coming out this week instead of next month, which is what I thought. Turns out, she was right! This is great news! So now Allegiant is now on my Kindle and I am reading it. 🙂

Now on to the review.

If I Stay

This book was different from anything I’ve ever read before. The main character is Mia, a teenage girl who is in a massive car accident. Her parents and her younger brother are all killed. Mia, however, is in a coma, and as such, she is in limbo, between being alive and being dead. As her . . . spirit? soul? . . . follows what’s going on with her physical body, she’s also remembering her life and trying to make a big decision: should she stay or should she go on to whatever comes next.

Mia is an interesting character. She is devastated, of course, about what happened to her parents and her brother, although she can’t fully mourn them given her current situation. Staying in the land of the living means giving them up, but at the same time, she has a lot to live for. She has her grandparents and her friends, but also her boyfriend Adam, who she loves very much. She was also getting ready to study the cello at Julliard. A brilliant, beautiful future that still could be hers, if she wants it.

This book is fairly short, only 262 pages according to GoodReads, which is part of why I read this in one sitting one Sunday afternoon, curled up in my bed. I also just had to know what Mia would decide. This book really makes you think about how you would feel in this situation, what you would think about your life if you were ready to leave it. I heard from several people that this book made them cry, and while it is sad, there’s almost no time to BE sad, if that makes sense. So it didn’t make me cry, but it did stick with me for a really long time.

This is one of the most beautiful books I’ve read in a long time. If you want a book that you will always remember, give this a read. Check in tomorrow, when I review the sequel, Where She Went.

One thought on “Book Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday – January 4th, 2016 | Life With No Plot

Leave a Reply

