Book Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

Do you guys know what this means? I’M COMPLETELY CAUGHT UP ON REVIEWS!! This makes me ridiculously happy.

Today’s review is one I’ve been looking forward to: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham.

someday someday maybe

This book is so sweet and funny. It was a welcome change from some of the scary, paranormal, dystopian stuff I usually tackle. Plus, another reason why I love it is because I was lucky enough to pick up a signed copy from the Barnes & Noble in Union Square in New York.

photo

This is the story of Franny Banks, a young woman living in New York City, who wants more than anything to be an actress. But Franny is realistic. She knows that her chances are slim and she doesn’t want to be one of those people who can’t take a hint, who don’t know when to give up, so she has given herself a three year time limit. Three years to live in the big city, to try to become a success as an actress, before going back home and giving in to a predictable life with a predictable husband.

I like Franny. She’s a smart, realistic girl. She’s taking the steps to try and make her plan work, like taking acting classes from a well known acting teacher, and auditioning for every single thing she can get. She also keeps up with a Filofax, a huge day planner where she highlights everything that she is doing, good and bad. These pages are included in the book, handwritten with little pictures.

This book was fun and endearing. I was always planning on reading it, just because I adore Lauren Graham, so it was an added bonus that the book was so good. You cheer with Franny when she finds ways of advancing her non-existent career, you groan with her when she doesn’t trust her gut, and ultimately you learn what she does – that being successful doesn’t have to mean giving up your dignity and self-respect. Sometimes losing that success is worth it.

So check it out. Definitely worth the read.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

  1. Looks good! I think I am going to buy it this weekend, I have been looking for something light and fun to read. I just finished The Sound and the Fury, which was neither light nor fun…

  2. First off, that is incredibly awesome you got a signed copy! Secondly, I really really need to read this book! I too am a fan of Lauren Graham’s and it is great to find out that it is worth reading. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Bibliophiles Anonymous #66 – Favorite Covers of 2013 | Bibliophiles Anonymous

Leave a Reply

