Teasers and (No) Top Tens – November 12th

Teaser Tuesday

Happy Tuesday everyone! I’m running a little late today. Let’s just say that getting a day off is both a blessing and a curse.

Kicking things off with Teaser Tuesday, hosted by the always lovely MizB over at “Should Be Reading.” Here’s how to play along:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser today  comes from a book that I am finally getting to read, after putting it on hold for a while.

At one point people outside rushed the bus, their clothes ratty, hair matted to their heads, strange sores like those Thomas had seen on the woman covering their terrified faces. They pounded on the sides of the vehicle as if they wanted to get on, wanted to escape whatever horrible lives they were living.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Creepy, isn’t it! I’m having some mixed feelings about this book, but I’m enjoying it overall.

I usually also participate in Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by “The Broke and the Bookish,” but I will be skipping it this week. The topic this week was about cover art, and which books we would want to redesign the cover art for. To be honest, I never pay that much attention to cover art, so it’s a bit of a moot point with me. I will say that I typically don’t like when book covers come out with movie artwork from an adaptation. I don’t want to see a bunch of actors on the cover! I just want the original artwork, thank you very much! But that’s really the only cover art I feel strongly about, and since I’m running short on time, that’s all you’ll get from me today on this topic. Sorry folks! I’ll be back on track next week!

3 thoughts on “Teasers and (No) Top Tens – November 12th

Leave a Reply

