Movie Review: Catching Fire

So this is the second Monday that I’ve done a movie review. As much as I’d love to make Movie Mondays a thing, I just don’t see movies all that much. Oh well. Maybe someday?  If I start watching more movies?

On to the review.

Catching Fire Movie

I can’t tell you how much I was looking forward to this movie. I loved how they did The Hunger Games (you can see my review for the first movie here) and thought it was probably the best book-to-movie adaptation I had ever seen. Could they pull that off twice?

Yes. Yes they can.

Really, there is only one slightly negative thing I can say about this movie, and it really isn’t a complaint as much as just a comment. In the first movie, I had a hard time remembering that they cut anything. It felt completely seamless. In Catching Fire, I could feel that there were a few things missing. A few places felt a little bit rushed. But really, that was the only thing. They still told the story very well and edited down the manuscript into a well written screenplay that still conveyed the same tension and drama as the book. In short, I got the same feeling watching the movie as I did reading the book, which is always the best compliment that I can give a movie like this.

The acting was amazing, just like last time. Jennifer Lawrence. Oh my goodness. She was BORN to play Katniss. She just gets it! She gives Katniss so much depth, with strength and toughness, but also with vulnerability. Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth also did well, but my favorite casting will always and forever be Woody Harrelson as Haymitch and Lenny Kravitz as Cinna. They were wonderful and steal every scene they are in.

On the Capitol side, we have Donald Southerland as President Snow, who is suitably sinister in every way, and Stanley Tucci as Cesar Flickerman, who is hilarious in his over-the-top-ness. Seriously, how does he smile like that!

The new Tributes were likewise wonderful. Sam Claflin was a great choice as Finnick. Jena Malone kicked butt as Joanna. Lynn Cohen will BREAK YOUR HEART as Mags.

If you are a fan of the books, and you were a fan of the first movie, you need to go and see this movie right now. It is absolutely wonderful, so wonderful that I saw it twice opening weekend. Get thee to the theater! Now!

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Catching Fire

Leave a Reply

