Teasers and Top Tens for December 17th

Teaser TuesdayTeaser Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by MizB at “Should Be Reading.” Here are the rules:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

In order to boost myself out of my reading slump, I decided to try something completely new. It’s not that I don’t want to read the Kady Cross books – the first one was excellent and I want to know what happens next – but I don’t think I’m in the mood for them right now. So here’s the first two sentences of my next read.

I wake up barefoot, standing on cold slate tiles. Looking dizzily down, I suck a breath of icy air.

White Cat by Holly Black

Not sure why this dude is on the roof, but I guess I’ll find out!

 

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This week’s topic:

Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2013

This was tough to narrow down. I’ve discovered a bunch of new – and not-so-new, but new to me – authors this year. It’s been a great year for reading, I have to admit it. So here we go.

  1. Veronica Roth – The author of the Divergent trilogy, I picked up her series just in time for the final book to come out. I still say that the first book was probably the best, but the whole trilogy was gripping and edge-of-your-seat-y.
  2. Gayle Forman – The author of If I Stay and Where She Went. I read If I Stay in one sitting because it was impossible to put down. Beautiful and heartbreaking.
  3. Erin Morgenstern – I think people are probably getting tired of me raving about The Night Circus, but too bad! That book is amazing, beautiful and sensual, and made me want to re-read it the second that I finished it.
  4. Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – Granted these are two authors, but they wrote one really good book – Beautiful Creatures. Actually, they’ve written many things together, including the rest of the Caster Chronicles, which I desperately need to read. I also saw them at YALLFest, and they are hilarious!
  5. Stephanie Perkins – I love her so much! Her books are sweet and funny and romantic and make me want to go to Paris. She’s also a really nice person who I got to meet at a book signing this year.
  6. Chloe Neill – I will be forever grateful to my podcast co-host, Jess, who encouraged me to read the Chicagoland Vampires series. Well, actually she got an ARC of book seven in the series and made me have to charge through them to be able to review it in time. It was worth it though!
  7. Kristin Cashore – The Graceling books were some good, straight-up, epic fantasy. It had been a while since I had read that and these were the perfect books to sink into, even if it did take me a while to finish the series.
  8. Robin Wasserman – I’ve only read one book of hers, Skinned, but it was haunting and stuck with me for a long time after I finished it. This is another series that I definitely need to finish once I get the time.
  9. Kendare Blake – You want something haunting and scary? Read Anna Dressed in Blood. Go on, I dare you. So good, it’s practically a visceral experience. I’ve got to find the sequel, Girl of Nightmares, sometime next year.
  10. Liesel Schwarz – One of the first ARC’s we ever got from NetGalley was A Conspiracy of Alchemists, the first book in The Chronicles of Light and Shadow. Fun books with a cheeky heroine, these were my introduction to steampunk. And I do enjoy it.

So there are my authors. Check them out! They are all awesome! And please leave your author lists and teasers in comments! Because, as you know, I desperately need to add to my TBR list. Really, I do. 😉

 

7 thoughts on “Teasers and Top Tens for December 17th

Leave a Reply

