Teaser and Top Ten Tuesday for December 31st

The last day of the year is upon us, which means I have a lot of stuff to wrap up. But first, some fun Tuesday posts.

Teaser TuesdayTeaser Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by MizB at “Should Be Reading.” Here are the rules if you want to play along.

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love.

It did not end well.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

This isn’t even really the first words of the book – it’s the epigraph – but I loved this quote so much. I’m looking forward to reading this, although I probably won’t get around to starting it until tomorrow.

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the lovely folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This week’s topic:

Top Ten Books Read in 2013

This topic is both so easy and sooooooo hard! Easy, because I’ve read a bunch of great books this year, and hard, because wow, I’ve read a bunch of great books this year. I can only pick ten? In no particular order, here they are.

1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – Seriously y’all, how often have you heard me singing this book’s praises? It’s one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read ever, no just this year.

2. Deadline and Blackout by Mira Grant – The last two books of the Newsflesh trilogy left me on the edge of my seat and knocked the breath right out of me. I still haven’t recovered from the last sentence of Deadline and probably never will.

3. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl – I really need to finish this series. This book was wonderfully told and I really enjoyed it. Plus, I got to see both authors at YALLFest this year!

4. Of Shadow Born by Dianne Sylvan – This series just keeps getting trippier and trippier and that’s what I love about it! I love her take on vampires and I love her characters. Can’t wait for the next book in the series.

5. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake – I don’t read a lot of horror, but this was really good. Vivid and scary with a great mystery thrown in.

6. Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore – The last book in the Graceling series was my favorite. I really loved Princess Bitterblue. She’s a great character given some really tough problems to work out, and she does it well.

7. If I Stay by Gayle Forman – Any book that forces me to read it in one sitting, that won’t let me put it down, deserves to be on this list. Seriously, I couldn’t have stopped if I wanted to. It was that gripping.

8. Divergent by Veronica Roth – I’m so glad I finally read this series. I enjoyed all three books, but the first one was my favorite. It will be interesting to see what they do with the movie.

9. Pawn by Aimee Carter – I’m so glad I managed to grab this ARC from NetGalley! This is the first book in a series, and I already can’t wait to get the next book. It was really, really good!

10. Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham – When I picked this up, I expected to enjoy it, but I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. This was such a funny, heartwarming, inspiring book!

I could have easily doubled this list. There were so many good books out there that I got to read this year. Hopefully 2014 will bring some wonderful new reads as well!

As always, please leave your teasers and lists in comments. Wishing everyone out there a Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Teaser and Top Ten Tuesday for December 31st

Leave a Reply

