Teasers and Top Tens for January 28th

It is so hard to get back into the swing of things after taking time off blogging! Besides that, I won’t have much to review since I’m primarily focusing on the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin, and A). I’ve already talked about how much I love them, and B). they’re so massive, there’s no way a review of mine could do them justice. I can, however, keep up with my weekly memes, which is what brings me here today.

Teaser TuesdayTeaser Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by MizB at “Should Be Reading.” Here are the rules if you want to play along:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Tyrion allowed himself a moment to feel sorry for the boy. Another fool, and a weakling as well, but he doesn’t not deserve what Cersei and I are doing to him. It was a kindness that his uncle Kevan had two other sons; this one was unlikely to live out the year.

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin

These books are so good, but hard to pull quotes from. It’s all amazing stuff.

toptentuesday2Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This week’s topic:

Top Ten Worlds We’d Never Want to Live In

Since I read a lot of fantasy/sci-fi, this one comes with a lot of choices for me. Throw in all the dystopian stuff that’s so popular at the moment and you can add a bunch more to this list. For today, however, I will narrow this list down to seven choices.

1. Westeros (A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin) – Let’s keep the GRRM love coming! While I love his work, I would hate to live in his world, only because I would probably die very quickly. I’m not devious enough to survive.

2. Panem (The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins) – Another place where I probably wouldn’t survive. My hometown is smack dab in the middle of District 12.

3. The NeverNever (The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa) – This really goes for all fairy realms really, but Kagawa shows just how dangerous and devious a place it is. Fairies are beautiful, but you don’t want to live among them!

4. The United States (as portrayed in Ready Player One by Ernest Cline) – While I practically live online anyway, I don’t want that to be the only place on Earth worth living. And I don’t want to live in a stack of trailers either.

5. The United States (as portrayed in the Newsflesh series by Mira Grant) – Zombies everywhere, the government not to be trusted, the people sent to protect you actually trying to kill you instead. Yeah. No thanks.

6. The United States (as portrayed in Pawn by Aimee Carter) – While I was always good at taking tests in school, I don’t want my entire future based on the results of one of them. And the things they can do you if you fail? *shivers*

7. Deepgate (Scar Night by Alan Campbell) – You’d think a book with angels in it would be uplifting, right? Wrong! This city is suspended over deep pit by thick chains. I’m too clumsy to live there! One wrong step and . . . AAAAAhhhhhhhhh!

Please leave your teasers and top ten lists in comments!

14 thoughts on “Teasers and Top Tens for January 28th

    • They are huge, but the best part is that they are so well written, they actually go by pretty quickly. They hook you in and don’t let go. You have to keep reading to find out what the heck will happen next. 🙂

    • They are really really good. Just set aside some time to dive into them – there are five books so far in the series, and they’re all huge. It goes by pretty fast though. Good stuff.

  1. I haven’t seen Pawn on anyone’s list yet – that’s right at the top of my wish list.

    Love the Fire and Ice books so, so much. Tyrion and Danerys are my favorites. I actually think the show is really well done too.

    • Part of why I wanted to re-read the books was so I could watch the show. I got the first season on DVD last year. I’ve heard people say it’s really well done.

      And I had to put Pawn on the list. Once I found out what “Elsewhere” was? Gave me chills, and not the good kind.

Leave a Reply

