Top Ten Tuesday for March 11th

wpid-toptentuesday.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the folks over at “The Broke and the Bookish.” This week’s topic:

Top Ten All Time Favorite Books in X Genre (you pick the genre!)

Most of the time, if I have to pick a genre, I always pick fantasy. This time around, I think I will give you my all-time favorite classics. I am using a loose definition of the term “classics” here. Basically, if they are often used in a school curriculum, I am counting it. Trying to narrow it down to a particular time frame was too difficult for me and would have forced me to leave off some really good books. We can’t have that, now can we. 🙂

  1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – I have adored this book ever since picking it up for the first time in my senior AP English class in high school. I loved that Jane was a strong woman, determined to not be hemmed in by society’s standards.
  2. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky – Another book from my senior AP English class. We read so many good books that year. I love the conflict – you know Raskolnikov did something horrible, but at the same time, you understand why he did it. It really makes you think.
  3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – Didn’t get to this one until college, but it left an impact. I loved the setting of this book. It really made you feel as though you were living in the Roaring 20s.
  4. The Tempest by William Shakespeare – Not technically a book, but the English major in me couldn’t leave this list without a little Shakespeare! I studied this play in several college classes and got to see it performed in NYC with Mandy Patinkin as Prospero!
  5. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde – Want to read something creepy? Look no further! This is a great book, way ahead of it’s time in my opinion. I would love to see a modern retelling of this. Hmmm . . . maybe I should write one?
  6. Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw – I read this book a few years ago. Anyone who is familiar with the Broadway show/movie My Fair Lady will recognize the story. I was quite pleased at how well the musical kept faithful to the original source.
  7. 1984 by George Orwell – All you people out there who love dystopian fiction? Here’s the grand-daddy of them all! Such a good (and slightly scary) book, showing just how easy it is for the bad guys (in this case, the government) to infiltrate everything, including your mind.
  8. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – This book has ended up on several of my lists throughout the years, but that’s because it’s just that good! You think you know the story of Frankenstein, but you probably don’t. Read the book, don’t just watch the movies.
  9. Dracula by Bram Stoker – Another must read, this time if you are a fan of vampires. Before there was Twilight, Chicagoland Vampires, Shadow World, or any other <insert vampire series here>, there was Dracula.
  10. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens – Yes, this is a holiday read, but it’s still my favorite Dickens novel and always will be. You all know the story. The book has been very faithfully made into movies and plays galore, but there’s nothing quite like the original deal.

So that’s my favorite classic novels. Please leave your lists for today in comments!

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday for March 11th

    • See, that’s why I had to put the disclaimer at the top – I didn’t want people to think of “classics” as “stuff written in the 1800’s” or something like that. There are several more modern books that I automatically lump into my definition of “classics,” and 1984 is one of them. Plus I spent a fair amount of time with that book during one of my classes in grad school. It had to go on the list!

Leave a Reply

