Book Review: Enter the Night by Norah Wilson and Heather Doherty

Book one sucked me in. Book two blew my mind. Here’s my review of Enter the Night by Norah Wilson and Heather Doherty.

enter the night

It occurs to me that although I mentioned in my review of book one that these three girls discovered a special power, I never made clear what that special power was. That’s helpful.

Here’s the deal. In the attic (mentioned in my Comes the Night review), there is a large stained glass window of the Madonna. If the girls tap on the window and chant, “I want out. I want out,” their . . . . spirit? soul? something? . . . shoots through the window. Their physical body crumples to the ground (unhurt, but unconscious) and this soul can fly around and see things. They call them “casts” since that’s what the girl in the diary called them and they look just like ghosts, except completely black. Maybe I didn’t describe the power because it’s very hard to describe if you haven’t read the book.

The trouble with “casting out” is that while you are in your cast form, your stress and fears fall away. So do a lot of your inhibitions. It becomes intoxicating. Addicting. Not good.

Anyway, in book two, the story focuses more on Maryanne. She has a lot of issues, despite looking like the perfect school girl on the outside. She has been haunted by the death of her baby brother Jason, feeling guilty about his death because it happened while she was babysitting. It wasn’t her fault or anything she really did, but she feels horrible about it (as you would). In this book, he starts haunting her literally, causing her to spiral out of control and take more risks when casting out. Maryanne also decides to start dating a boy named Bryce, which should be fine, except that he is the grandson of one of the “Heller Hunters,” people in the town who had seen the cast of Connie Harvell years ago and declared her a creature of Hell that needed to be destroyed. Bryce is feverishly following in his grandfather’s footsteps, but Maryanne desperately wants to trust him. Yeah, you can see this going bad, can’t you.

I really, really like this series. I loved book one and book two is just as good, if not better. I like how we’re getting to know another character better and it leads me to believe that book three will be concentrating more on Brooke, the third roommate. I will say that this book ended with the three girls in one heck of a predicament, an excellent cliffhanger. Which of course means that I bought and started book three, Embrace the Night, immediately. 🙂

Have you ever read any of these books, or any other books by these authors? I’m so glad I found them!

One thought on “Book Review: Enter the Night by Norah Wilson and Heather Doherty

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Embrace the Night by Norah Wilson and Heather Doherty | Life With No Plot

Leave a Reply

