Exciting News!!!

So once again, I have disappeared from my blog. Life has been super busy as of late – my job has especially been kicking my butt. But none of that matters right now, because I have a big, exciting announcement!

About a month ago, I finally plucked up the courage to do something that I’ve been wanting to do for years and years – I auditioned for a show at our local theater. Twin City Stage is putting on a production of the musical Into the Woods, which has been one of my favorite shows ever since I was in high school. It’s a fun story, a fractured fairy tale at its finest, with amazing music by Stephen Sondheim. Lots of stories melting together, including Cinderella, Rapunzel, Little Red Riding Hood, Jack and the Beanstalk, and others. I was really happy to see it being done locally, whether or not I was a part of it, but I wanted to be part of it so bad!

Due to the director’s schedule, they didn’t have the call back auditions until last week. I knew I got a call back and was happy to have passed the first round of auditions, but I found out late last week that I got a part in the show! Or, to be precise, I got three parts in the show – three small roles that are minor, but memorable. I will be playing Cinderella’s mother (sort of the fairy godmother of this story), Little Red Riding Hood’s granny (she’s a hoot!), and the angry woman giant out to get revenge on Jack for killing her husband.

At first they said I was being considered for Cinderella, which surprised me to no end, but to be honest, I’m glad I didn’t get a big part. This will let me get some experience on stage without being too nervous. I will have one small singing solo and several lines, both onstage and off (the giant is usually never seen, just a thundering voice coming from off stage), plus bits to sing with the ensemble. I can’t wait for rehearsals to start!!

Incidentally, there was a really good video of the original Broadway production, including the wonderful Bernadette Peters. It’s streaming on Netflix right now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

