New Year Goals and Accomplishments

Happy New Year everyone! Hope you all had a safe and enjoyable holiday season! This is one of my favorite times of the year. A time to reflect on the year previous and to look ahead to what’s to come. Plus I get to break out my lists, and you all know how much I enjoy my list making!

goodreads
My GoodReads goal was to read 75 books this year. I had toyed with the idea of raising that to 100, but I am very glad that I didn’t. I made it to 75, but only barely. Here’s my list:

  1.  The Magician King by Lev Grossman
  2. The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman
  3. Splintered by A.G. Howard
  4. Unhinged by A.G. Howard
  5. Deep Blue Secret by Christie Anderson
  6. Ensnared by A.G. Howard
  7. Rogue Wave by Christie Anderson
  8. Ambrosia Shore by Christie Anderson
  9. The Island by Jen Minkman
  10. Angels & Demons by Dan Brown
  11. The Doorknob Society by M.J. Fletcher
  12. Death’s Daughter by Amber Benson
  13. Going Bovine by Libba Bray
  14. Good Omens by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman
  15. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
  16. Redshirts by John Scalzi
  17. Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
  18. Crossed by Ally Condie
  19. Devilish by Maureen Johnson
  20. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke
  21. Reached by Ally Condie
  22. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  23. The Impossible Engineers by M.J. Fletcher
  24. The Mapmakers Union by M.J. Fletcher
  25. The Detective Inspectors by M.J. Fletcher
  26. Skeleton Key Guild by M.J. Fletcher
  27. Valiant by Holly Black
  28. Ironside by Holly Black
  29. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
  30. Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake
  31. The Fairy Godmother by Mercedes Lackey
  32. My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent
  33. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  34. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  35. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  36. One Good Knight by Mercedes Lackey
  37. Fortune’s Fool by Mercedes Lackey
  38. Feed by Mira Grant
  39. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  40. My Soul to Save by Rachel Vincent
  41. Deadline by Mira Grant
  42. Will Grayson Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan
  43. My Soul to Keep by Rachel Vincent
  44. My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent
  45. If I Die by Rachel Vincent
  46. Before I Wake by Rachel Vincent
  47. With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent
  48. Blackout by Mira Grant
  49. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
  50. Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
  51. Beautiful Chaos by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
  52. Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story by David Levithan
  53. Concealed Power by K.J. Colt
  54. Beautiful Redemption by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
  55. Blood Healing by K.J. Colt
  56. Blood Sacrifice by K.J. Colt
  57. Forsaken Power by K.J. Colt
  58. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
  59. This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
  60. The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross
  61. The Girl in the Clockwork Collar by Kady Cross
  62. The Girl with the Iron Touch by Kady Cross
  63. The Girl with the Windup Heart by Kady Cross
  64. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
  65. Linger by Maggie Stiefvater
  66. Forever by Maggie Stiefvater
  67. Mind Games by Kiersten White
  68. Scar Night by Alan Campbell
  69. Under the Empyrean Sky by Chuck Wendig
  70. Perfect Lies by Kiersten White
  71. Blightborn by Chuck Wendig
  72. The Harvest by Chuck Wendig
  73. The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu
  74. A Tale Dark & Grimm by Adam Gidwitz
  75. Nirvana by J.R. Stewart
  76. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

So I did make it just over my goal, which is awesome. I think for 2016, I will be keeping the same goal of 75, but I will still see if I can shoot for 100. Hopefully I won’t have any more of those pesky reading slumps.

Reading colors your life
I am actually very pleased with my progress here. I listed 33 series that I had started in previous years, but had never finished. I wanted to try to finish one third of them, and I came pretty darn close at 10. I’m going to count that as a win! Here’s my list, making off the one’s I completed:

  1. Modern Faerie Tales by Holly Black – COMPLETED!!
  2. Anna series by Kendare Blake – COMPLETED!!
  3. Phedre’s Trilogy by Jacqueline Carey
  4. The Blackcoat Rebellion series by Aimee Carter
  5. The Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima
  6. Matched series by Ally Condie – COMPLETED!!
  7. The Steampunk Chronicles by Kady Cross – COMPLETED!!
  8. Hellsbane series by Paige Cuccaro
  9. Book of Ember series by Jeanne DuPrau
  10. The Rules for Disappearing series by Ashley Elston
  11. Mythos Academy series by Jennifer Estep
  12. Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – COMPLETED!!
  13. Scarlet series by A.C. Gaughen
  14. Legends of Dimmingwood series by C. Greenwood
  15. The Magicians series by Lev Grossman – COMPLETED!!!!
  16. Hex Hall series by Rachel Hawkins
  17. Rain Wild Chronicles by Robin Hobb
  18. Mara Dyer series by Michelle Hodkin
  19. Splintered series by A.G. Howard – COMPLETED!!!!
  20. Shades of London series by Maureen Johnson
  21. Scarlett series by Maureen Johnson
  22. Arrows trilogy by Mercedes Lackey
  23. Five Hundred Kingdoms series by Mercedes Lackey
  24. Sevenwaters trilogy by Juliet Marillier
  25. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
  26. Angelfire series by Courtney Allison Moulton
  27. Abhorsen series by Garth Nix
  28. The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss
  29. Books of Faerie series by Maggie Stiefvater
  30. Wolves of Mercy Falls series by Maggie Stiefvater – COMPLETED!!
  31. Bartimaeus series by Jonathan Stroud
  32. The Heartland Trilogy by Chuck Wendig – COMPLETED!!
  33. Mind Games series by Kiersten White – COMPLETED!!

I also tried to finish all the series that I started this year, and did pretty well. 

  1. The Water Keepers by Christie Anderson – COMPLETED!!
  2. The Doorknob Society by M.J. Fletcher – COMPLETED!!
  3. Between by April Genevieve Tulcholke
  4. Calliope Reaper-Jones by Amber Benson – NOT INTERESTED IN FINISHING
  5. Soul Screamers by Rachel Vincent – COMPLETED!!
  6. Healers of Meligna by K.J. Colt – COMPLETED!!
  7. Starbound trilogy by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner – COMPLETE UNTIL DECEMBER! NEW BOOK OUT NOW!!

So if I take the 23 left from previous years, and then add the two that I want to finish from 2015, that gives me 25 series left to work on. I’d like to knock another 10 out in 2016, as well as continue finishing new series as I go.

And there you have it! I’m really excited to start off this new year with some great books, both new finds and old friends. I will also probably try to do more with the Seasonal Reading Challenge over at GoodReads, just because it’s fun to try and fit my reading into their little puzzle.

What are your goals for the year? Are there any books you’re looking forward to in 2016?

Leave a Reply

