Teaser Tuesday – January 3rd, 2017

Teaser-Tuesdays-Purple

Sigh.

It’s one thing to say you are going to try to blog every day. It’s another thing to actually remember to post the blog instead of saving it as a draft. Back dating this one and then moving on!

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted now by The Purple Booker. Here are the rules if you would like to play along:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers! Everyone loves Teaser Tuesday.

“You had better wait here,” said the wizard to the dwarves; “and when I call or whistle begin to come after me – you will see the way I go – but only in pairs, mind, about five minutes between each pair of you. Bombur is fattest and will do for two, he had better come alone and last. Come on Mr. Baggins! There is a gate somewhere round this way.”

~~ The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

So, confession time. I am a big fan of The Lord of the Rings, however I was introduced to the story not from the books, but from the movies that came out back in 2001-2003 (holy crap that was 15 years ago!! where has the time gone!!!). And believe me, I was OBSESSED with those movies. Bought the extended special edition DVDs and watched ALL the extras, all the actor interviews, all the stuff on the creative team and how they built this world. I wanted to move to New Zealand.

I have only read the trilogy of books once, right before the last movie came out, because I was so worried that Frodo was going to die and wanted to be prepared if that were the case. I may have read them a second time at some point in the years between, but I don’t think I have. I am currently going back through the books reviewed on Mark Reads and reading the books and the reviews together, just because it’s fun, and he read the trilogy, but started with The Hobbit.

I confess that I really didn’t like The Hobbit the first time I read it, which was right after finishing The Return of the King. I think it was because after reading about this big, epic fight to save mankind and all of Middle Earth, reading about a bunch of dwarves who just wanted their gold back seemed a little silly. There’s more to it than that, of course, and I think seeing The Hobbit movies in recent years has helped me build that world a bit more. So we’ll see if I appreciate it more this go around.



Categories: Blog Every Day January, Teaser Tuesday

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment