Teaser Tuesday – February 21, 2017

Teaser-Tuesdays-Purple

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Purple Booker. Here are the rules if you want to play along:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Many that live deserve death. And some that die deserve life. Can you give that to them? Then be not too eager to deal out death in the name of justice, fearing for your own safety. Even the wise cannot see all ends.

~ Gandalf, The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien

I love this quote. It appears in this book, but also in The Fellowship of the Ring, where it was originally spoken.

This book is taking a very long time, I know, but Tolkien is something that tends to go slowly. I do want to try and finish this one this week though.

Please leave your teasers in comments!



Categories: Teaser Tuesday

Tags: , , , ,

12 replies

  1. Interesting excerpt. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

  2. Gandalf if fantastic for words of wisdom. I think that might be part of why he’s my favorite character. Yep, even more than Frodo.

  3. “I eased down on the gas pedal and up on the clutch. His truck’s rear end hunkered down.” (p. 113) Not my usual fare, but something I’m reviewing for a professional publication. Heavenly Horse Stories by Rebecca E Ondov

  4. I often make myself slow down so I can savor a great book.

    My TT from Ice Hunt

  5. I haven’t read these books yet. Maybe I should. 🙂 Great teaser!
    I think I’d like this one!! Great teaser! Thanks for stopping by my blog too! 😉
    Teaser Tuesday! Hunted by Meagan Spooner

  6. Such a great quote! It’s been ages since I read these books… I do agree Tolkien writes in a way that has to be absorbed slowly to properly enjoy it.

Leave a comment